Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-24-2015, 04:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Sand vs. Gravel for 20 Gallons

I have been doing research and going back and forth on the decision of whether to do sand or gravel for our new 20 gallon tank. I am fairly new to caring for tanks on my own. We had them growing up when I was a kid, but my dad did all the work. My son has had a 5 gallon with gravel for the last 2 years, but he is only 3, so I have been doing all of the maintenance.

I am debating between keeping/adding to the current blue 5 gallon gravel or getting sand for the new tank. The plan is to have it be a community tank with a few bottom dwellers (I really want a group of Khuli Loaches). Looking for what is best for the fish, but also as easy as possible to maintain. I am also a little worried about how sand works with the filter. We have not decided on filtration yet, so if there is one that works better with sand over others, I can accommodate that.

If I do go with sand, how many pounds would I need for a 20 gallon tank. Would a 25lb bag be enough? I think when we did the gravel for this tank we did 1 or 2lb/gallon, but I have read it is a fine balance with sand.

Old 08-24-2015, 04:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Go with sand. It looks nicer, would be better for your khuli loaches, and I disagree when people say gravel is easier to clean. Sand is way easier to clean! Plus sand is better/easier for planting live plants.

With freshwater there's no specific amount of sand of gravel you need. It depends on what you're looking for and what requirements your livestock need.

A nice stock list would be:
6 neon dwarf/praecox rainbowfish (super active, colourful, and easy to feed)