Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2021, 09:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Seachem Stability + Nee Aquarium

Hi all

I need some assistance. I am getting into this hobby and learning everything by reading on forums and watching YouTube videos.
I recently bought a 40gallon aquarium, tidal 55 filter, air pump heater and lots of plants. I used seachem prime on the day of the setup and kept the aquarium running for a whole week. I have been using seachem stability as instructed since day 1. On day 8 I went ahead and purchased some tetras (8). I have been using seachem stability everyday to further establish good bacteria and might be overdosing since the instructions ask to use only till day 7.. It’s been day 11 and the fish look extremely healthy. I have been testing my water for ammonia, nitrite and nitrates every day and I don’t find any traces- all are 0.
Does this mean my tank is cycled and can I buy more fish?

I look forward for your expert advise.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Oakfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 09:34 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
FishOwner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Southern Colorado
Posts: 77
Usually to make sure if a tank is cycled you need to wait until nitrates appear (the waste ammonia/nitrite is getting processed). I believe you should wait until some nitrate appears on the test readings.

There are some way more knowledgeable people on the forum and they might have a different opinion though.

I hope you enjoy your tank!
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________
FishOwner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2021, 11:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by FishOwner View Post
Usually to make sure if a tank is cycled you need to wait until nitrates appear (the waste ammonia/nitrite is getting processed). I believe you should wait until some nitrate appears on the test readings.

There are some way more knowledgeable people on the forum and they might have a different opinion though.

I hope you enjoy your tank!
Wondering if the plants and moss is keeping the nitrates 0 but can certainly wait a bit longer. Thank you
__________________
Oakfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 12:25 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,947
Cycling info
https://www.thesprucepets.com/speed-...-cycle-1380707
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 12:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,947
Stability and similar products info
https://aquariumscience.org/?s=Bacteria+in+a+bottle
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 12:28 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,947
Plant and new to the hobby info
https://aquariumscience.org/index.ph...-new-hobbyist/
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 02:54 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 900
No way of knowing if you are "cycled". It looks like you have enough cycle alongside the plants to support the current bioload, but there is no way of knowing if you are cycled and can fully stock.

If you are consistently seeing 0ppm ammonia and nitrite then you can safely add some more fish, like an additional 25 to 30% bioload. Keep on with daily testing, manage water parameters with water changes if you see ammonia and/or nitrite. Again if you are consistently seeing 0ppm ammonia and nitrite add another 25 to 30% bioload. Rinse and repeat until fully stocked.

A few reasons why you might not be seeing nitrate.

- You are doing the nitrate test incorrectly. This is very common with API liquid test. Shake the heck out of bottle #2.
- You arent cycled, but due to low bioload and plants the ammonia and nitrite isnt getting to readable levels and nothing is processing to nitrate.
- You are cycled, but due to low bioload and plants the nitrate isnt getting to readable levels.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 04:26 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
No way of knowing if you are "cycled". It looks like you have enough cycle alongside the plants to support the current bioload, but there is no way of knowing if you are cycled and can fully stock.

If you are consistently seeing 0ppm ammonia and nitrite then you can safely add some more fish, like an additional 25 to 30% bioload. Keep on with daily testing, manage water parameters with water changes if you see ammonia and/or nitrite. Again if you are consistently seeing 0ppm ammonia and nitrite add another 25 to 30% bioload. Rinse and repeat until fully stocked.

A few reasons why you might not be seeing nitrate.

- You are doing the nitrate test incorrectly. This is very common with API liquid test. Shake the heck out of bottle #2.
- You arent cycled, but due to low bioload and plants the ammonia and nitrite isnt getting to readable levels and nothing is processing to nitrate.
- You are cycled, but due to low bioload and plants the nitrate isnt getting to readable levels.
Thanks for the great tips. I did realize I wasn’t checking nitrates correctly but even after testing it again as per the instructions it still show as 0. I am going to take your advise and buy 1 bristlenose pleco, the reason I am buying it now is I have some fungus on my new driftwood which it will eat and also it’s poop will generate some ammonia.
__________________
Oakfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 06:07 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 900
Try to keep your ammonia + nitrite combined below 0.5ppm. If it goes above 0.5ppm combined do 25% water change. If it gets above 1ppm combined do 50% change or 2 x 25% changes a few hours apart. If you increase stock slowly you shouldn't see these kind of levels, but at least you know what to look for and what to do if they elevate. Do 25% water change per week regardless.
__________________

__________________
Aiken Drum
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium, new aquarium, nitrogen cycle, sea, seachem, stability

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you nee to boil driftwood fron LFS? Dreamwallaby Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 11-27-2012 01:20 AM
SeaChem Stability--a skeptic's question madasafish Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 03-07-2005 07:54 PM
seachem stability greatgman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-02-2004 04:32 PM
seachem stability greatgman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 11-14-2004 12:15 PM
Seachem Stability urville Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 09-11-2004 01:24 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.