Seeding an AC bio-max in fish bowl?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jcdaddi

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I am a newbie and have started reading more about his hobby.

I am going to switch from a fish bowl (6 months+ old) to a 10 gallon fish tank. I have bought an Aquaclear 20 HOB. I plan to use Tetra Safestart to start the cycle of the new tank.

I probably won't switch over until the weekend when I will have more chance to do the water tests and monitor the levels.

I am wonder if it will be beneficial to put the bio-max media (that comes with the AC 20) in the fist bowl for the next few days. The fish bowl doesn't have a filter. If I do so, the bio-max will just sit at the bottom of the fish bowl. Will it help seed the bacteria in the new tank?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

My first question is what fish do you have? The filter will be fine, depending on what fish you have.

Thanks for your reply. They are 2 small goldfish (i think they are comet) that my kids got from a carnival.

I understand the general recommendation is to get a larger tank but a 10 g is what our family could agree upon at this point. We may upgrade in a few years if needed. Thanks again.

Oh geez. Okay, so here's what's what: