Seeding tropical aquarium with pond media?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sunday

Aquarium Advice Newbie
(AKA nitrite woes)

I am new to the hobby and have a 5g/25L planted tank I would like to kick start the cycle with. I was told that I would be set up and ready to go within three days of running empty but having done research this is definitely not the case...

I currently have one betta in there but it's going through the nitrite spike and despite frequent (3-4x per day) water changes of 25-75%, I'm not able to keep it down enough for my liking! Ammonia is at 0-0.25 and nitrites vary from 0.25 to over 2ppm. My tap water tests at 0 nitrites. I haven't got a nitrate kit unfortunately. I live in the UK and prime is near impossible to get hold of so I am using stress coat instead. The plants I have are java fern, crypt, amazon sword, two marimo balls (one small, one large), and a type of South American grass. The grass is planted but the sword and crypt are still in the plastic pots I bought them in as I haven't been able to put substrate in properly yet. I have started using Pure Aquarium bacteria balls in my filter upon recommendation but not sure they've made much difference.