Should a newbie consider trying cichlids??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AngelThoughts

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to the fish hobby... I don't really think that my lil 5g with a couple of platies in it counts as a challenging tank I've had them a couple of months...no problems (knock on wood).
Here is my situation. I recently bought a 36g bowfront tank and it is set up but has no water in it yet. I really haven't decided what I want to put in it. I WAS going to just do some gouramis or something but then I saw a few cichlid tanks around here and on other sites and thought they were sooo much more striking. I also noticed a bit more challenging (which I have time for and don't mind working on. But then my tank may be too small most people I've seen with any sort of cichlids seem to have at LEAST 55g.
I am also intimidated to actually get any being the newbie that I am. Would you recommend to stick to regular old community freshwater fish or to try a cichlid tank?
Are there some good sites you would reccomend where I can read up on this family of fish and that might have some good resources for me to do research on the care etc? Thanks in advance.

What type of cichlids were you considering? I run an African Rift Lake Cichlid tank. This is my first tank in about 8 years. I just did a lot of research and then started it.

A big tank isn't necessarily what you need, it depends on the type of fish you want to run. There are a type of cichlid that are shell dwellers, aka shellies. They are commonly kept in 10 gal tanks although they are a lot cooler when in a larger environment.

The easiest way to do research is to go to your lfs and see what fish you like, then do a google seach for them and write down their specific needs. Find out which fish compliment each other and then go for it.