Silverstipe shark - stock suggestions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Aquavic

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey guys, so I'm new to tropical fish and I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank that consists of red, dalmatian, and black mollies. I asked the guy at petco and they said that the silverstripe shark wouldn't be able to coexist with the mollies but on the handout they gave me it said that they do. I wanted to know if I could get one or not because they look awesome and I really want one.

Tank is too small for a silver tip shark. Can get up to a foot long

+1 shark=big tank every time

Side note: Is a silverstripe shark another name for a silver tip or for (worse in my opinion for the tank tank size) an iridescent shark? Or is it one of those names that gets tossed about irrespective of species?

I have no idea, it said silverstripe but maybe I read it wrong

(Shrugs) Ah well; I really wish fish stores would start making an effort to include latin names and get them right...truth off the top of my head I can't think of a single 'shark' species that should be in a tank smaller than 70g either due to adult size, schooling nature or active behaviour or all of the above.

Well. Any suggestion though? Plants, fishes, anything?

Last edited by a moderator:
Well. Any suggestion though? Plants, fishes, anything?

How many mollies are we talking here? Seeing they are your starting point you could do a central american biotope.

Check this out: Central American Lowlands -- Livebearer Biotope Aquarium Setup
Central American River Biotope Aquarium Setup