Small Tank Rescue Crises!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

whafish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have taken over a new fish community from a neighbor who purchased a kit for their son. The family had intial interest but the interest waned and .... well you know the rest. The tank is a 5 gallon tank and it is clearly overpopulated. There are 6 fancy guppies (2 males/4 females), 2 Cory cats, and a Pleco. There are a few mystery snails and a nerite snail (?). I am a novice myself but have done some quick study on nitrogen cycling etc. and it doesn't take a pro to realize this tank is grossly overpopulated and was never properly cycled. The ammonia levels are deep green in the chemical ammonia scale. The fish are clearly suffering and I am not sure what to do. I went to a local store and purchased test kits, water conditioners, and a 29 gal. tank (with heater, hang over back filter and air supply) that I will setup tomorrow. But this will be a new setup.

What should I do to save these fish and bring them into a healthy environment given the crises state? I did a 2 gallon water change with Spring water in the 5 gallon tank. One Cory is probably not going to make it over night.

Appreciate any constructive advice in advance. This is why I joined this forum after spending the evening reading up.

I would get the new tank set up, scaped, filled etc. If you have anything from the small tank that can go in the new tank like decorations, move those over. Squeeze out a sponge from the old tank into your new tanks water. If any filter media can go from your old filter into the new i would transfer that over. Turn it on, make sure everything is working ok.