Snails?!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ganondwarf2

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So I don't know if this is the right place to ask but I'm pretty new to the fish keeping hobby tho I've done a ton of research. I wanted to ask what the best ways of getting rid of snails are. I have not figured out how. I don't like how snails look and I brought them in on accident when I bought a new plant for my tank and saw the snails today. I wanna know how to get rid of them permanently even though I know they are good for a fish tank also since I have algae but I want them out anyway. Also how do I remove snails or snail eggs off of a plant after purchased before putting it in my tank?

So I don't know if this is the right place to ask but I'm pretty new to the fish keeping hobby tho I've done a ton of research. I wanted to ask what the best ways of getting rid of snails are. I have not figured out how. I don't like how snails look and I brought them in on accident when I bought a new plant for my tank and saw the snails today. I wanna know how to get rid of them permanently even though I know they are good for a fish tank also since I have algae but I want them out anyway. Also how do I remove snails or snail eggs off of a plant after purchased before putting it in my tank?

i recently just had a snail outbreak in my tank. my suggestion is to check the plant before putting it in the tank and just bring the snails back to the local pet store they will take them back. some people just flush them though which i do not recommend. if u see them in ur tank just grab them or scoop them out with ur hand. i have long nails so i just scooped all 38 snails out of my tank with my nail, put them in a bag with water and brought them to the pet store.

Could alum powder be used straight into my tank to kill the snails and snail eggs?