Starting my fishless cycle over :(

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daner

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So long story short - I messed up, my pH crashed and I didn't realize the pH was the reasoning for my cycle stall for probably too long. Aaaand now I need to re-start my fishless cycle. Trying to do better this time. :banghead:

My pH was recently so acidic it was not registering a color on the pH chart, awesome. Did a nearly 100% water change, added Prime and a little bit of fish flakes. My tap water has a pH of around 7.4-7.6, currently 5 days after the water change my tank pH is already back down to 6.8 (maybe less? I'm not good at the color charts :( )

Dosed my Ammonia back up to 4ppm, hoping there is some beneficial bacteria left in my filter after the low pH fry. ::sigh::

My question is, how after should I add small amount of food flakes to keep the nutrients adequate for cycling and how often would you recommend topping off Primed water to help keep the pH adequate? Any other tips on making things go more smoothly?

Hi there. You need to know your source water parameters before adding it to the tank. Leave some tap water in a bucket fir 24 hours. Then check Ph, this is a true reading of your source water. It's amazing how different it can be.
Also, you do need to know the temporary hardness Kh and general hardness Gh of your source water. API have a liquid test kit for these checks. If Kh is under 6 on the test then you will nearly always risk a Ph crash. Be aware so that raising Kh also raises Ph but Kh of 6 seems fine in my tank.
Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thanks for the reply ScotJudd