Starting planted tanks.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AaronW

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Ello fellow fish people and aquarists!

I'd like to start a thread about starting a planted tanks. because I think they can be quite beautiful!

First off can we discuss how planted tanks are different from fish heavy tanks in terms of maintenance and equipment?

Secondly I'd like to get a list of nooby pitfalls to planted tanks as I am a noob to planted tanks. Ie I don't own one yet but I am positive id like having one on my desk.

Lastly pics! I wanna see your purdy tanks. So i can get some ideas. And so you can show off. Lol I'm addicted. I'm posting this thread in class

greetings.

nooby pitfalls would be buying plants that aren't actually aquatic and plants that has higher needs than you can provide. research is important just like with fish.

the good thing about a heavy planted tank is that you'll have all the o2 fish needs. the plants help with no4 and phosphorous and they add a whole new element to the aquarium, making the aquarium a piece of landscape rather than some fish and colored gravel.
i am not sure what maintenance or equipment a regular fake plant tank needs but a planted tank needs proper light, proper fertilizer, good flow, correct temp and co2 is a plus but not needed. either way it probably is more work, but imo totally worth it.

sincerely,
nereksnad.

Here's a link to my heavily planted tank as I don't want to clog the tread up with pic's ...http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f70/220g-planted-newly-rescaped-231568.html