Starting rainbow tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pseudomugil

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I've been keeping freshwater fish for about 9 years, and over the last few months I've become really interested in rainbowfish. I currently have a 20 gallon and 2 10 gallons with multiple rainbowfish.
Current stock list:
1 boesemani rainbow
3 praecox rainbows
1 turquoise rainbow
1 red Irian rainbow
1 Australian rainbow
3 Gertrude's rainbows
2 threadfin rainbows
I know most of these fish grow too large for the 3 small tanks but I'm setting up a 56 gallon soon and taking down the 2 tens (the 20 will stay). Will this be enough for all the rainbows? And if it is can I get a few more small species?

Hey pseudo,
I don't have a ton of experience with rainbowfish, other than keeping boesemanis. Ultimately, I felt that my 55 gallon was too small for their activity level, and rainbows should be kept in groups of a minimum of five.
If you are planning in going in that direction, I would recommend a bigger tank, especially with multiple species. Also, make sure there are plenty of hiding spaces as they will sometimes chase each other relentlessly. If you're limited to that size tank, I would try a group of five of two types, but that being said I believe different types of rainbows will still hang together. I know there are concerns about different species breeding so they must get along to a point. They're pretty good community fish but aggressive eaters so shy fish might not get their share. When I had mine, I kept them with rasboras, tetras, swordtails, silver dollars, cories, and an angelfish at different points in time. I ended up trading them to a guy that put them in a 90 gallon and man were they happy about that.
I wish you all the best!