starting up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shayfish

Aquarium Advice FINatic
First of all I'd just like to say that I am really enjoying this site and I find all of the advice here really helpful and informative.

Now... I am about to start a freshwater community tank. It is still a ways off as I'm not even finished building the canopy yet, let alone begun cycling but I am trying my best to plan ahead. I am looking for input/suggestions on my idea for my community... here's the info:

size: 55 gallons
filter: rena xp3
airpump/heater: undecided
light: 36' T-5 dual strip
substrate: flourite/gravel mix

The kind of fish I am thinking of are:
-assorted tetras
-assorted barbs
-2ish bala sharks
-1 or 2 african dwarf frogs
-1 or 3 gold mystery snails

I would really like this to be a planted tank but I have never tried plants before. I am a little worried about what kind of plants I should try, and whether my fish will eat them.

Also, I am planning to take some water from my dad's 33 gallon community to kick start my cycling. Does this really work? Is there anything I should watch out for with this?

SO... does anyone have any suggestions about my plan? Is there something that looks like a bad idea? Or (even better) are there any suggestions on what could be better about it? Other fish ideas? Etc?

edit: Oh, and I'd like some kind of bottom feeding somethingorother to help with keeping some of the algae in check.

Welcome to AA if no one has told you yet!

I like your set up at this point, good filtration and adequate lighting. For a heater, I recommend the Hydor ETH 300 filter. It is inserted in your outflow from the XP3, and does a very good job of keeping the tank temp consistent (I have the same set up on my 75g).