Starting up a 30g tropical tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Oscen

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi

I'm set to purchase a 30 imperial gallon tank (35 US gallon) with a cannister filter (and a heater of course) and I'm looking for a bit of advice on setting it up. I'm not a newcomer to fish keeping by any means, but I am new to the 'technical' side of things, for example, using liquid test kits instead of dip sticks...little things like that.

I already have a 22 imperial gallon (26 US gallon) up and running, it's well established and has been for three years now...but the tank was second hand to begin with and it's condition has deteriorated, hence the new 30g. My fish stock in my current tank is very low, I've had my fish for a while and the majority of them have died of old age (mostly tetras of different kinds) but I still have a few harlequins, a couple dwarf otos, a single female pearl gourami, a juvi golden barb and five corys (2 albino and 3 pandas).

I'm looking to properly aquascape my new tank and pack it with live plants, I've done some reading into cycling with plants and I've seen that if you pack your tank with plants (a silent cycle) then the cycle time is greatly reduced - is this true? I'm well aware of how long a fishless cycle takes and I don't really want to be running two tanks for long, so would adding cultured live bacteria from my lfs speed things up as well?