Stocking Advice for a New 20g, Fully Cycled Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

boomalatty

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi,

Thanks for the fantastic community. I kept a tank for some time when I was younger, so I have some experience in fishkeeping, but the information is so much more accessible now! We're just getting into aquariums with my 8-yr old daughter, who has a new 20g tank. She has completed a fishless cycle (thanks to Eric Ogilvie and The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling). We stopped by Petsmart this week and she looked at some fish she thinks she wants. I wanted to run it by the group to make sure these fish are all compatible (from what I understand, they are) and to get suggestions on quantity. Here's the list:

Cardinal Tetra
Tequila sunrise delta guppy
dalmatian molly
marigold variatus platy (or possibly other platies)

For the tetras, we'd like to have about five, since they are schooling fish. For the guppy, molly, and platy, we'd like to have 1-2 of each, whatever would be appropriate for the total stocking level of the tank. We don't yet want to breed though. Zebra danios were also a consideration, but I don't think we'd have sufficient volume for a group of them in addition to these other fish.

Thanks in advance!

Hi and welcome. Congrats on your fishless cycle and for researching fish prior to buying. This is very refreshing. :)

Is it a 20 gal high or a 20 long?

If it's a 20 high, your stock looks good actually. You could do:

5 cardinals
2 guppies
1 molly
1 platy
6 zebra danio

OR you could forego the zebras, add 2 each of the mollys and platy and increase the numbers of cardinals to 8.