Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-20-2014, 04:18 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 80
swapping tanks what to do ?

swapping my tanks over is it possible to straight swap everything in one go or do I have to fully cycle the new tank ?
__________________

__________________
goodgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 05:25 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 121
If your existing tank is well established and you just move everything across then no you wont have to go through a whole recycle.

This is assuming you dont go cleaning your filter, decorations or substrate and that your filter is capable of processing through a larger water volume if you are upgrading to a significantly larger tank.. Move them as is.

Depending on how old or dirty your substrate is you may go through a mini cycle as you will kick up and carry over a lot of the anaerobic muck and bacteria. This should be short lived though.

Also carry over some of the tank water.
__________________

__________________
Britty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 06:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Plantaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 259
Yeah, if similar tank sizes and using same equipment shouldn't be a big deal. Leave fish in old tank, transfer 50% of water to new tank(don't vacuum gravel just pull water from the top), remove decor and carefully scoop and transfer substrate to new tank. May do a good gravel vac as you go, with the end of the syphon hose going into a bucket but strain it with a fish net, and carefully add the water back to the tank you are switching out of to allow yourself more time to vaccum(position the heater so it is submerged and can stay on if you do this, as the water will cool down if taking it out and adding it back!) . Let the substrate settle in the new tank, then fill it all the way up with new treated water and transfer and turn on the equipment and let it run for awhile. Once its full and at temp. switch the fish to the new tank and your done! I wish I had a new tank :.-(..

Edit: and to be safe, test water daily for the next week to be sure you don't get any ammonia spikes if the bacteria doesn't do so well in the move!
__________________
"You can't argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." -Mark Twain
Plantaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 11:14 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 80
That's for the advice very helpful !

What would be the go if changing from 2 sponge filters to possibly a canniester filter ??
__________________
goodgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 02:20 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Luananeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 1,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodgy View Post
That's for the advice very helpful !

What would be the go if changing from 2 sponge filters to possibly a canniester filter ??
Take the sponges from your sponge filters and put them into the canister filter's baskets along with new bio-media. This will allow your old sponges to seed the new filter. Then do the same steps described earlier

After 2-4 weeks you should be able to pull the sponge filter sponges out of your canister filter, as the beneficial bacteria should have spread through the rest of the filter by then.
__________________
Luananeko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 03:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Plantaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodgy View Post
That's for the advice very helpful !

What would be the go if changing from 2 sponge filters to possibly a canniester filter ??

I would say just run both the new filter and both of the old filters in the new tank for a few weeks or so. Then remove the old ones, probably one at a time and allow the bacteria to move/grow in the canisters filter on its own. And again to be safe, test as you remove the old filters, to be sure the canister is established.
__________________

__________________
"You can't argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience." -Mark Twain
Plantaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
app, swap, tan, tank, tanks

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swapping tanks clark4feathers Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 07-28-2013 07:23 PM
swapping tanks & cycling El_diablo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 03-05-2011 08:40 AM
Follow-Up on Swapping Substrate and Removing UGF shogsten Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 09-28-2004 09:57 PM
cycling by filter media swapping fergie615 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 09-04-2004 10:30 AM
Swapping out substrate kwan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 07-13-2004 01:47 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.