Tank Mates

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RinkaNinjaGirl

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 25G freshwater tank:
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405269566.934840.jpg
With a juvie angelfish and a DG, I was wondering what tank mates I could get to live with that pairing and tank size? Due to poor information I originally bought 2 of the DGs, male, but had to sell one and I just thought the tank could maybe do with something else? It's cycled and has had just these two for about a month now, it has some plants and a few decorations that I could move for more space if needed :) sorry if it's long, thanks XD

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I was wondering though about a species that wouldn't fin nip, get eaten or become aggressive if you have any ideas? Sorry I'm a newbie this is my first proper tank XD would female platies get along with them? :)

Have gone through a similar situation. Zebra danios and corydoras (not pygmaeus - might get angel eaten) all the way! Definitely not serpae tetras! They were little buggers in my tank.

No worries. Hopefully others jump in on the conversation to offer more options (like Harlequin Rasboras!) from their experiences. Those species are just hardy (mostly) and what I like. Have fun...

Cardinal tetras would work great. Harlequin rasbora are nice fish as well. Mollies and platies are some good livebearers.

Here are some options

Cherry barbs
Harlequin rasboras
Glowlight tetras
Corys
Hatchets
Platies
Guppies
Mollies

Cardinals are colorful, but could be expensive if you get a school. I like hatchets but have lost a few. :(