Tank Product Necessities?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chizukan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I've attached an image of all the products I have so far. Since I'm still really new to this I don't really know which products are good/proper usage/and missing ones I should have on hand. I'm currently cycling my tank again and I hear a lot about Seachem Prime, unless I already have something here that works the same? I'm ordering the API Freshwater master test kit since I don't really trust the test strips. So wondering if there's anything else I should get while I'm at it.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    235.8 KB · Views: 58
The Kordon plus water conditioner is the only one you really need if your tank is cycled and you're maintaining water quality with regular water changes. Prime does the same thing. I would not spend money on any other products, other than perhaps the test kit. If you can return the rest of them, do so and invest in getting a good aquarium maintenance and cleaning kit (siphon, vacuum etc). I've had aquariums for years and never lost a fish because I didn't use off-the-shelf chemicals. They usually do more harm than good because it gives you the sense that you can be more lax with your water changes when in reality that's what the fishes need. As an analogy, imagine sitting in a room with a really smelly trash can and you're given an air freshener week on week to take care of the smell. The air freshener may temporarily mask the smell, but the only way to make the room healthy is to get rid of the trash.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice