Thank you thank you thank you!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Unswydd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all! Supa newbie here, Marsha is the name.
I bought a 10 gal. tank and 3 neons, 2 platys, and one bottom feeder. All died within 9 days. Yikes!!!!!
Neons got caught in the filter, fixed. Bottom feeder just died??? One platy got ICH died, the other platy died last night sometime.
The "pet store" kept testing my water and said it was fine. Ugh!
Soooo, today I went to a different "pet store" purchased some testing strips, 3 more neons and 4 beautiful guppies, baby was free, so 5.
I did a complete change out of my water because of the ICH and proceeded to refill my tank. I could not get the nitrite right but after reading and studying this site for a couple hours I finally happened on a great thread and wow!!! After 4 75% change outs I finally got everything right! HALLELUJAH !!!!!!!
So, thank you everyone for your awesome help and knowledge! Looking forward to learning more. :popcorn:

Remember test strips are not as accurate as liquid kits and have and expiration date. Neons need larger groups and are better suited for a 20 and up. Five guppies in a 10g is fine and a good bioload imo.

Glad your on the right track. As Delapool stated hows the ich?

Well, ICH is gone. I lost the platy tho. Bummed about that.
I took a sample of my water to the store where I got the new fish and he said my readings were off....ugh, after all that work I was discouraged. I asked him why he would sell me strips if they weren't accurate. He had no answer. He was not helpful at all. They used a liquid test kit. He suggested I put in some Bio Spira after some pressing from me. So I used that. He said to wait 2 weeks then bring in another sample. I think I will buy a liquid test kit myself and do my own testing since he was so snobbish.