Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2011, 01:22 PM   #1661
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 131
At this point I have 5 full grown shrimp and a handful of baby shrimp. I don't have another tank to put them in to cycle. The worst part is I'm going out of town next week and I'll be gone for about 14-16 days. Someone is going to feed the shrimp for me, but asking them to do daily water changes is a bit much.

I've been reading this thread and from what I understand, if I add ammonia to my tank, my shrimp will die. I guess the only thing I can do is get some very hardy cheap fish to keep the bio fed since shrimp don't produce much. What do you suggest? I plan on this being a shrimp tank so if possible I want my babies to not be eaten. I can buy new shrimp if needed, but I want to avoid it if possible.

The clown loaches were tiny suckers though. Around 1" each. I was told they grow slowly and would be ok in my tank for a while.

__________________
Kharrnn is offline  
Old 12-19-2011, 01:37 PM   #1662
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kharrnn View Post
At this point I have 5 full grown shrimp and a handful of baby shrimp. I don't have another tank to put them in to cycle. The worst part is I'm going out of town next week and I'll be gone for about 14-16 days. Someone is going to feed the shrimp for me, but asking them to do daily water changes is a bit much.

I've been reading this thread and from what I understand, if I add ammonia to my tank, my shrimp will die. I guess the only thing I can do is get some very hardy cheap fish to keep the bio fed since shrimp don't produce much. What do you suggest? I plan on this being a shrimp tank so if possible I want my babies to not be eaten. I can buy new shrimp if needed, but I want to avoid it if possible.

The clown loaches were tiny suckers though. Around 1" each. I was told they grow slowly and would be ok in my tank for a while.
If it's just going to be a shrimp tank without fish then you may not have a problem. The seeded media you add should help a lot. The clowns you had added a lot of ammonia to the tank which is why nitrites shot up (and ammonia as well). With just shrimp in the tank though this probably won't happen (or not as dramatically). I'd do a very large water change (80% if you can), put in the seeded media if you haven't yet, and then test the water in a half hour. If nitrites are <.25 then that's good (as close to 0 as possible is best); if not, do another large water change and keep going until nitrites are as close to 0 as you can get them. It woud be great if you could test ammonia too at some point.

You may want to start a new thread asking about cycling a tank with live shrimp. I'm not sure if it's possible or what kind of shrimp you have; I know generally they don't have much of a bioload meaning they don't put out much waste so if that's the case you may either be able to just leave them in the tank and test toxin levels periodically and do water changes if needed (although with some seeded media and a light bioload you shouldn't have too much of a problem). Sorry if this is confusing. I'd try it with just the shrimp and see what happens. I wouldn't advise adding fish just to use them to cycle the tank particularly if you're going out of town and won't be able to do water changes when toxins spike. You shouldn't have those kinds of spikes with just shrimp but as I said I'd maybe ask for advice from those on the forum who are more familiar with shrimp than I am. Just stress that these are live shrimp for a shrimp tank (another way to fishless cycle a tank is to use dead frozen shrimp from the supermarket and some may get confused lol).
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:36 AM   #1663
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stefernini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 252
substrate during cycle

Would there be any adverse effects to the substrate if I were to cycle a tank with eco complete in it at the time? Or would the bacteria in the eco help the cycle along?

Thanks
__________________
Stefernini is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 08:40 AM   #1664
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefernini View Post
Would there be any adverse effects to the substrate if I were to cycle a tank with eco complete in it at the time? Or would the bacteria in the eco help the cycle along?

Thanks
HI! I don't have any direct experience with Eco Complete so I can't say for sure, but there have been some odd results with members using Eco Complete. If you're doing a fishless cycle though there's no harm in trying it and seeing what happens. Here's a lengthy discussion from a member who used it and had some early problems with it: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ad-165213.html
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 05:07 PM   #1665
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stefernini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 252
Any drawbacks to cycling a tank empty, no substrate, and adding eco later? Fishless of course
__________________
"The solution to pollution is dilution. If in doubt, do a few PWCs."
55 gallon, Gus and Fred the ryukins
10 gallon, Bart the Betta
Stefernini is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:59 PM   #1666
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Deckape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefernini
Any drawbacks to cycling a tank empty, no substrate, and adding eco later? Fishless of course
The only drawback that I can think if is, the beneficial bacteria like to cling to surfaces. So by not adding any substrate cuts down on surface (subsurface) area for it to live. But it would work regardless. Its just easier to put substrate in an empty tank IMO ...
__________________
Smile, it makes folks think that you're up to something.

https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ml#post1456422
Deckape is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 08:21 PM   #1667
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bettababe1011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 5,450
It would still work because of the filter media, which is where most of the bb is. The substrate has some, but not as much
__________________
Fish are friends, not food!
-Dakota
Bettababe1011 is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 10:50 AM   #1668
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Clausura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Hi guys,

It has been 5 months since I have started fishless cycling and to me it has just been a thankless chore, it is still not done! After 5 months!

One of the issues is that I have very soft water coming from Singapore, from the tap it is 7.0 but after a few days it will drop to 6.6. I have done multiple water changes over the few months, put in a small bag of crushed coral, but nothing works, the pH will always drop to 6.6 - 6.6. I have tested the kH and it is very low, at abt 1.

Now after 5 months, my ammonia after 24 hrs is always 1.5 - 2 ppm and doesn't seem to drop any lower and it has been this way for 2 months! Nitrite is 0 and currently nitrate is 120ppm. And I will always top up the ammonia to 4 ppm every night.

My fishtank now is the laughing stock of my family and friends and my wife keeps nagging at me "Why can't you put in the fish now?" saying that it is a tank without fish. I have tried explaining to them about fishless cycling but they just don't understand.

So this is what I have done:

Last week, I have added Seachem Matrix to hopefully build up the population of bacteria in my canister filter, in addition to my existing ceramic rings.

Today, I have added in a bag of 20 cm x 20cm bag of coral chips to combat the low pH and preventing a crash but still pH is about 6.6. Is the pH still low to complete the cycle?

Does this mean that my tank will never cycle? Anyone can help?

By the way, my tank is a 55 gallon with black gravel substrate and has driftwood planted with java fern.

If this carries on, i will stop adding ammonia, just wait until the ammonia level reaches 0ppm, do a water change, and start adding my fish. This fishless cycling thing keeps beating me down and I am going to give up.

Maybe for extremely soft water, fishless cycling is just too much work.
__________________
Clausura is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 12:37 PM   #1669
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clausura
Hi guys,

It has been 5 months since I have started fishless cycling and to me it has just been a thankless chore, it is still not done! After 5 months!

One of the issues is that I have very soft water coming from Singapore, from the tap it is 7.0 but after a few days it will drop to 6.6. I have done multiple water changes over the few months, put in a small bag of crushed coral, but nothing works, the pH will always drop to 6.6 - 6.6. I have tested the kH and it is very low, at abt 1.

Now after 5 months, my ammonia after 24 hrs is always 1.5 - 2 ppm and doesn't seem to drop any lower and it has been this way for 2 months! Nitrite is 0 and currently nitrate is 120ppm. And I will always top up the ammonia to 4 ppm every night.

My fishtank now is the laughing stock of my family and friends and my wife keeps nagging at me "Why can't you put in the fish now?" saying that it is a tank without fish. I have tried explaining to them about fishless cycling but they just don't understand.

So this is what I have done:

Last week, I have added Seachem Matrix to hopefully build up the population of bacteria in my canister filter, in addition to my existing ceramic rings.

Today, I have added in a bag of 20 cm x 20cm bag of coral chips to combat the low pH and preventing a crash but still pH is about 6.6. Is the pH still low to complete the cycle?

Does this mean that my tank will never cycle? Anyone can help?

By the way, my tank is a 55 gallon with black gravel substrate and has driftwood planted with java fern.

If this carries on, i will stop adding ammonia, just wait until the ammonia level reaches 0ppm, do a water change, and start adding my fish. This fishless cycling thing keeps beating me down and I am going to give up.

Maybe for extremely soft water, fishless cycling is just too much work.
Have you ever tested your tap water for ammonia that might be why it never goes down if that's the problem you might have to think about a rodi unit
__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 05:35 PM   #1670
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Clausura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
According to other aquarists in Singapore, they have tested the water and ammonia is present in the water at about 0.25 ppm.
__________________
Clausura is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 06:02 PM   #1671
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Lunchbox209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: stockton CA
Posts: 397
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clausura
According to other aquarists in Singapore, they have tested the water and ammonia is present in the water at about 0.25 ppm.
Also on the crushed coral takes a day or two for it too actually show any results that's what happened with me but on the .25 ammo then you might have to start using ro water for you water changes
__________________
Lunchbox209 is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 09:36 PM   #1672
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
I disagree, respectfully. .25 of ammonia in tap water isn't high at all and once the tank is cycled that amount of ammonia will be processed quickly. Plus the ammonia isn't even dropping much from 4 so the ammonia in the tap water isn't playing a role here. It might be the low PH. I had a problem fishless cycling as well (took me 7 months). To Clausura: the crushed coral should help stabilize the PH and hopefully that's the issue with the cycle although your PH isn't so low that I wouldn't expect nitrification to happen at all so I'm not sure the PH is the cause (although it could be). Where are the 120 nitrates coming from? Are those in your tap water as well (if so that is a concern not only for drinking but for water changes when you get fish)?

Is there any way you can obtain some established media from an aquarium near you? That would introduce the bacteria to your tank safely (most of the cycle products don't work although you're welcome to try them, perhaps you'll get lucky). What ammonia are you using? Is it pure without anything added (surfactants, dyes, etc)?
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 12:21 AM   #1673
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Clausura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by librarygirl
I disagree, respectfully. .25 of ammonia in tap water isn't high at all and once the tank is cycled that amount of ammonia will be processed quickly. Plus the ammonia isn't even dropping much from 4 so the ammonia in the tap water isn't playing a role here. It might be the low PH. I had a problem fishless cycling as well (took me 7 months). To Clausura: the crushed coral should help stabilize the PH and hopefully that's the issue with the cycle although your PH isn't so low that I wouldn't expect nitrification to happen at all so I'm not sure the PH is the cause (although it could be). Where are the 120 nitrates coming from? Are those in your tap water as well (if so that is a concern not only for drinking but for water changes when you get fish)?

Is there any way you can obtain some established media from an aquarium near you? That would introduce the bacteria to your tank safely (most of the cycle products don't work although you're welcome to try them, perhaps you'll get lucky). What ammonia are you using? Is it pure without anything added (surfactants, dyes, etc)?
Hi librarygirl, the nitrates is from the conversion of nitrites. Could it be from lack of oxygen? I do have a bubble wand in my tank running though. For water changes during cycling, do I do a 50% WC or 90% WC.
__________________
Clausura is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 02:43 AM   #1674
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Clausura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clausura

Hi librarygirl, the nitrates is from the conversion of nitrites. Could it be from lack of oxygen? I do have a bubble wand in my tank running though. For water changes during cycling, do I do a 50% WC or 90% WC.
Btw, I am a teacher so I get my ammonia source ftom my school chemistry lab. It is very dilute though so I do need to add quite an amount to reach 4ppm.
__________________
Clausura is offline  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:03 AM   #1675
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clausura View Post
Hi librarygirl, the nitrates is from the conversion of nitrites. Could it be from lack of oxygen? I do have a bubble wand in my tank running though. For water changes during cycling, do I do a 50% WC or 90% WC.
I'm not sure how you're getting so much nitrite conversion without ammonia conversion. Typically ammonia is converted to nitrite and then to nitrate, so if ammonia isn't dropping significantly I'm not sure where the nitrates are coming from if they aren't in your tap water. What is the temperature of the water? You could do a large water change (if you're going to do one may as well do as larger one as you can) and then redose ammonia and see if it helps.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 10:10 AM   #1676
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Clausura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 44
Hi guys, just wanted to let you know that my tank has cycled and stocked. Thank you for all your help and advice, especially to Eco and librarygirl =) Here is a photo as required =)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4091283936.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	64.7 KB
ID:	72479  
__________________
Clausura is offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 10:11 AM   #1677
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Glad to hear it! Beautiful tank! Enjoy your fish.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 07:52 PM   #1678
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stefernini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 252
Eco complete definitely screws with the readings, but because I was aware, I wasn't surprised.

I finally started my tank on its cycle last night and dosed ammonia to 4. Today I have ammonia 2, nitrite 0, nitrate 5
__________________
"The solution to pollution is dilution. If in doubt, do a few PWCs."
55 gallon, Gus and Fred the ryukins
10 gallon, Bart the Betta
Stefernini is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:52 PM   #1679
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 665
hi everyone!, okay so let me get this straight.,since im new to the fishless cycle..do i just let the ammonia go down on its own or do i have to do water changes??? when do i do water changes? its a 29 gallon freshwater aquarium and i'm stocking it with only neon tetras when its cycled. btw i read the instructions to fishless cycling. i'm just a lil confused..

oh beautiful tank btw
__________________
awilson133 is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:57 PM   #1680
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,142
Let it go down by itself. The bacteria will grow and consume it. That's when you will see ammonia go down and eventually nitrite go up.
Mumma.of.two is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
cycling, fishless, fishless cycling, guide

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless Cycle Complete so soon? GouramiFanatic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 12-23-2008 08:05 PM
Fishless Cycle complete!!!!! EmptyH Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 6 03-25-2006 06:30 PM
Complete buyers guide for freshwater aquarium by YOU manooosie Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 08-15-2005 10:56 AM
Question about the guide for the fishless cycle Mananhammer Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 06-29-2005 09:48 PM
Fishless cycle complete! russrimm Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-29-2004 11:07 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.