Totally new to this, looking at starting up a 28G community tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

missmonday

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everyone,

I'm in the process of buying a 28 gallon tank with some great filters and other goodies I saw on Craigstlist (hooray!) and want to ask for opinions on what I eventually plan on stocking the tank with.

More research needs to be done on my part for tank cycling, and I'm aware that it'll take me several weeks to a few months to get the nitrogen cycle down, and in the meantime, I'll do research on fish compatibility!

Well, I'm a total novice so please be gentle (As of yet I only have a single betta, but he's doing just fine) but I'm looking at:
  • kuhli loaches (maybe 5?)
  • corys (maybe pandas or dwarf, depending on what I can find, maybe 5)
  • platys (4, preferrably all female)
  • a single dwarf or honey gourami
  • ghost/red cherry shrimp (6?)
  • neon tetra (a small school of 7 or so?)

I definitely don't want to overstock the tank, and I have plugged in the fish and tank dimensions into aqadvisor and it seems to be satisfied (there will be 2 different filters on the tank to help).

I'm definitely looking into having a planted tank as I feel tanks with natural plants just look prettier. I'm a little less sold on the tetras, so if someone has a better suggestion I'm all for it.

I haven't yet looked at the selection of fish from my local petco, petsmart, other local fish stores, etc. so I know what I'm interested in will be dependent on what I can find, but other suggestions/friendly advice will be very helpful in deciding how to stock my tank!

Welcome!!!

Great to see you are doing research before you buy the fish because many do not.

You have a great stocking list that shouldn't run into any problems.