Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-24-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 5
Question trouble with tetra safe start

I set up my aquriam on Saturday & dechlorinated the water. I waited for around 24 hrs. and added tetra safe start. Next day the waer was cloudy. is this normal? I never used terta safe start before. I have been away from this hobby for along time. I remeber when you had the corner filters and is was cotton, charcoal, cotton. My readins were good - ammonia was .25 ph was 6.8 and my nitrites & nitates were both 0.

__________________
debart914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by debart914 View Post
I set up my aquriam on Saturday & dechlorinated the water. I waited for around 24 hrs. and added tetra safe start. Next day the waer was cloudy. is this normal? I never used terta safe start before. I have been away from this hobby for along time. I remeber when you had the corner filters and is was cotton, charcoal, cotton. My readins were good - ammonia was .25 ph was 6.8 and my nitrites & nitates were both 0.
I think it's probably normal. Safe Start is hit-and-miss. I've used it twice and didn't work either time. Others have used it and it has worked. Do you have fish in the tank yet? If not, I highly advise a fishless cycle. If you do have fish, you need to check water daily and do water changes (right now, ammonia at 0.25 with fish in the tank would require a water change, in my opinion).

In my signature there are two guides: new tank with fish, and new empty tank. Click on the one that pertains to you and it will help. Good luck.
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:27 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Yes, This is normal. I used safestart and it kinda worked. The water is cloudy because your basically pouring "bacteria" in your tank.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
joel618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: So. Illinois
Posts: 757
Worked fine in my tank. I had other media and whatnot that im sure helped it along though
__________________
joel618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:35 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel618
Worked fine in my tank. I had other media and whatnot that im sure helped it along though
Its like hit n' miss. I guess it could almost be considered luck.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:39 PM   #6
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,046
I wouldn't call it luck. It doesn't have a perfect track record but it does have a good enough one to recommend it as a working product.

Safestart is meant to be used with fish. It also mentions in the directions not to do water changes unless the ammonia gets to a very high level, which it isn't at. It would defeat the purpose of adding it if you are just taking it right back out.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:40 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
joel618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: So. Illinois
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by George9

Its like hit n' miss. I guess it could almost be considered luck.
I would say luck for sure.
__________________
joel618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:43 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
I wouldn't call it luck. It doesn't have a perfect track record but it does have a good enough one to recommend it as a working product.

Safestart is meant to be used with fish. It also mentions in the directions not to do water changes unless the ammonia gets to a very high level, which it isn't at. It would defeat the purpose of adding it if you are just taking it right back out.
Everyone I talked to didn't recommend it. But I used it and it did work for me. I'm glad too, I paid $20 bucks for a bottle!

I like your signature Jeta Jockey BTW.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:47 PM   #9
come get me tang police!
 
jetajockey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: In a swamp near you /Pensacola, FL
Posts: 12,046
There are multiple other factors that play in to whether it works or not. Obviously there's the handling aspect, since it is live bacteria, and we have no way to know how it was handled prior to getting on that shelf. That aside, though, I believe many people don't follow the directions explicitly either. I've spoken with the Tetra reps and they recommend a small initial fish load and absolutely no water changes for at least a week unless the levels get ridiculously high, they shouldn't though if you followed the 'small initial fish load' recommendation.

What also happens is people end up testing the water after a day or two and see .25ppm or .50 ammonia and freak out and do an unnecessary water change that removes much of the bacteria that was still getting settled in.
__________________
Dont Forget to Join my FREE weekly Plant Giveaway.
Click Here!
jetajockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
George9's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,765
Send a message via Yahoo to George9
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetajockey
There are multiple other factors that play in to whether it works or not. Obviously there's the handling aspect, since it is live bacteria, and we have no way to know how it was handled prior to getting on that shelf. That aside, though, I believe many people don't follow the directions explicitly either. I've spoken with the Tetra reps and they recommend a small initial fish load and absolutely no water changes for at least a week unless the levels get ridiculously high, they shouldn't though if you followed the 'small initial fish load' recommendation.

What also happens is people end up testing the water after a day or two and see .25ppm or .50 ammonia and freak out and do an unnecessary water change that removes much of the bacteria that was still getting settled in.
I didn't Add fish after safestart. I just continued the cycle and it worked out. I was too nervous to add a fish like Tetra said.
__________________
-George
George9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 11:56 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
joel618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: So. Illinois
Posts: 757
Quote:
Originally Posted by George9

I didn't Add fish after safestart. I just continued the cycle and it worked out. I was too nervous to add a fish like Tetra said.
I added 4 to my 75, it seemed to work out well.
__________________
joel618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 09:11 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Question

Hello I am new to the forum, I didnít want to start a new thread since my question is about the same thing hope you lot donít mind,


Iíve just started up my new 95 litre coldwater tank, this is what I have done so far.

Filled in the tank with cold tap water that has been treated as instructed with tetra aquasafe.

The temperature of the tank was 10 degrees C, as instructed by tetra safestart I waited until the tank was around 21-23 degrees C before treating it with tetra safestart the problem is my water was clear before adding tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ (biological filteration booster) after adding both tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ overnight my tank has gone very cloudy I have not added any fish Iíve left my normal flow UGF running throughout and is still running.


the water was clear before I added the live bacteria so the gravel was washed thoroughly Would this go away after a week or so?



Any advice is appreciated

Thank you

__________________
fantasyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 07:37 PM   #13
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantasyman View Post
Hello I am new to the forum, I didnít want to start a new thread since my question is about the same thing hope you lot donít mind,


Iíve just started up my new 95 litre coldwater tank, this is what I have done so far.

Filled in the tank with cold tap water that has been treated as instructed with tetra aquasafe.

The temperature of the tank was 10 degrees C, as instructed by tetra safestart I waited until the tank was around 21-23 degrees C before treating it with tetra safestart the problem is my water was clear before adding tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ (biological filteration booster) after adding both tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ overnight my tank has gone very cloudy I have not added any fish Iíve left my normal flow UGF running throughout and is still running.


the water was clear before I added the live bacteria so the gravel was washed thoroughly Would this go away after a week or so?



Any advice is appreciated

Thank you

Hi, yes, it should go away, it's probably from the additives. How are you goign to cycle the tank? There's a link in my signature below: guide to starting a FW aquarium. It covers a lot of things and cycling is the first. You'll want to read both the fish-in and fishless cycle guides and choose one. Good luck!
__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 07:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oregon
Posts: 4,911
Quote:
Originally Posted by fantasyman View Post
Hello I am new to the forum, I didnít want to start a new thread since my question is about the same thing hope you lot donít mind,


Iíve just started up my new 95 litre coldwater tank, this is what I have done so far.

Filled in the tank with cold tap water that has been treated as instructed with tetra aquasafe.

The temperature of the tank was 10 degrees C, as instructed by tetra safestart I waited until the tank was around 21-23 degrees C before treating it with tetra safestart the problem is my water was clear before adding tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ (biological filteration booster) after adding both tetra safestart and API STRESS ZYME+ overnight my tank has gone very cloudy I have not added any fish Iíve left my normal flow UGF running throughout and is still running.


the water was clear before I added the live bacteria so the gravel was washed thoroughly Would this go away after a week or so?



Any advice is appreciated

Thank you

Welcome to AA!

It's debatable whether or not you've actually added any live bacteria. The general feeling about these additives is that they are a gimmick, though some do swear by them. I added one once, though a different brand, and my fish became very ill and most of them died. What I can say for sure is if they did contain the bacteria you need, it would quickly die off without a source of ammonia in the tank (i.e. fish waste). I would recommend you do a fishless cycle.
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
__________________
siva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2012, 07:04 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Guys/Girls thanks for the helpful response/links, I can’t seem to find a good place that stocks pure ammonia, I’ve even looked at mail ordering and places like eBay, couldn’t even find a international seller that sells it, any idea where I can get it from, I don’t want to start using shrimps, any of you guys in the US can get a hold of “Ace Brand Janitorial Strength Ammonia” and list it on eBay with international shipping to the UK?

Any advice or help is appreciated

Thank you
__________________
fantasyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
safe, start, tetra, trouble

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bloodfin Tetra adadkins1 Freshwater & Brackish - Fish or Plant Profiles 5 09-28-2011 08:14 PM
Want to start adding plants WinksFish Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 2 08-24-2011 05:58 PM
Issues with getting siphon to start on Fluval Edge! electro_cute Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 08-06-2011 03:02 PM
white mouth neon tetra +very fat bloated black tetra andrew davies Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 13 07-05-2011 06:37 PM
Wanting to start an aquarium Mare_226 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 07-02-2011 07:27 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.