Troubleshooting a whole lot of death for a newbie!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Claireh703

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi!

I'm relatively new to all this as I was given an aquarium in May 2020 when a friend was concerned that her fish wouldn't survive a cross-country move. Unfortunately, the fish haven't had the best survival rate staying with me either. I'd love to have any advice on how to improve that survival rate before we invest in more fish.

We have a 20 US gallon tank with gravel substrate, a few live plants and some ornaments. The temperature remains at about 79 degrees. Whenever we test the levels of the water (sporadically!), they are all ok. We have never treated the tap water because it's well water but I'm now curious as to whether it's also chlorinated. We have a light that is turned on for about 12 hours a day.

We use an Aqueon QuietFlow 30 filter - we upgraded in size from the one I inherited because we had regular algae bloom and my husband thought the tank capacity was far larger than it is. (I measured it to write this post and pointed out his mistake!) We put the filter on the one side at the back so that there was a difference in water flow for the fish. The fish tend to hang out on the opposite side for the majority of time but will also swim confidently around the filter end too. We did have a few small fancy guppies that struggled with the flow in their first few days but were fine after that. We still have the original filter (Aqueon Tech 10-20) so can switch back if needed now we've realised our (my husband's!) mistake!