Two simple questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChrisH

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm very new to this and have not as yet setup my first tank. I have two simple questions:

1. What is the best size of tank for a beginer?

2. Can you get silent running pumps? I have an open plan house and don't want to listen to the constant hum of a pump.

3. Is there a manufacturer of tanks that is recognised to be better than others and what makes a good tank?

I know there are three questions now, please pick two you think are simple :grin:

1. The best size is different for everyone. It depends on where you will put it. what type of fish you want. funds available to use.
i can tell you that the larger the water volume the slower water parameters change and that's better for beginners.

2. you can use a hang on back power filter and have the constant trickling sound of a babbling brook or you can use a canister filter which are almost silent. i am using a marineland c-220 and an eheim 2234 canister filter and they are almost silent. i hear the computer on the other side of the room over them. i don't even notice they are on except for the plants swaying in the current it makes.

ill just go ahead and answer all three because im cool like that

1. tank size, for a beginner you should get as large as your funds and space allow, if you can afford a 300G tank off the bat, you better bet im coming over and staring at it all day. if you can only do a 29G, then do it.

2. yes, plenty, ask around on here or read reviews on products.

3. again, preference. a guy on here named ryshark got a Clear-For-Life 180G tank, and i dont know if he loves it but i know i do, and when i get mine ill be getting the same one (despite them being a tad expensive). some people build their own tanks too. but im pretty sure aqueon is a good one as well