Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-20-2021, 08:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 2
Unsure of Cycle status at this point.

14 gal Tank has been cycling since June 18th and from July 8th to the 15th the ammonia levels have been 0ppm or 0.25ppm despite me dropping the right amount for the tank size and I had to do a mini water change on the 17th due to the nitrites being a bit too high and I didn't want it killing off the nitrates and checked the levels after a day since reading that it needed to stabilize after a water change and Ammonia was 1.0ppm, Nitrite 1.0ppm and Nitrates 40ppm which I found strange since Nitrates was constantly 160ppm for the past week and a half before the water change.

I just checked a few minutes ago and everything is 0ppm even the ammonia which I actually doubled yesterday just to see if anything showed up and it still says 0ppm. PH levels are 7.0 so it can't be that and I have the heater and water filter running.

Can anyone try to explain what is going on? I haven't touched the substrate or plants in the tank either.

__________________
AgnosticFlower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 02:40 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 1,500
How are you cycling the tank?

Fish in cycle or fishless?

If fishless, what is the source of your ammonia?

Im not really sure what you think is the problem.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 04:41 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 2
it's fishless and im using dr.tims ammonia.

I'm just confused about the ammonia, nitrites and nitrates all being at 0ppm after the mini water change since when I would do those when needed the nitrites and nitrates would still show up when I tested the water using the API freshwater master kit test.
__________________
AgnosticFlower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 06:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 1,500
Ammonia being 0 could just be your cycle establishing. I dont see a small water change being a cause for nitrite and nitrate suddenly dropping from high levels to 0 though. Only explanation i can think of is something wrong with your test, either the one you are doing now or your previous test. Perhaps some contaminants in the tube? Maybe get a second opinion on your water, local fish stores usually do water tests, some even do it for free. Or buy a different test, maybe some strips to see what they show.

Why are you doing water changes during a fishless cycle? I normally change water to keep parameters on the test chart, but thats just my preference. Nitrite wont kill off nitrate. I dont understand what you mean by that.
__________________
Aiken Drum is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycle status unknown, testing mid cycle. Danbruski Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 02-09-2021 05:41 PM
Fishless cycle status jalanmiller45 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 26 09-04-2016 11:20 AM
Fishless cycle status? AtHomeWithTwins Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 04-07-2014 05:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.