Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-24-2019, 12:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Upgrade questions

I don't know how to word these so bear with me here. If I were to upgrade my aquarium
A) what would be the fastest way to cycle the tank
B) move my gravel/plants out of the old one into the new one without hurting my fish
C) The tank I'm looking at is drilled for a sump but dosen't come with one... I could use my old tank but then what do I do with my fish? Is there a safe way to do a fish in cycle?

Details: old tank 20 gallons, "new" tank ( buying from another fish keeper in town) 50 gallons.
Current stock 3 female mollies, 3 fry in 20 gallon. 6 fry in my grow out tank and getting too big.
__________________

__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 01:03 PM   #2
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraB View Post
I don't know how to word these so bear with me here. If I were to upgrade my aquarium
A) what would be the fastest way to cycle the tank
B) move my gravel/plants out of the old one into the new one without hurting my fish
C) The tank I'm looking at is drilled for a sump but dosen't come with one... I could use my old tank but then what do I do with my fish? Is there a safe way to do a fish in cycle?

Details: old tank 20 gallons, "new" tank ( buying from another fish keeper in town) 50 gallons.
Current stock 3 female mollies, 3 fry in 20 gallon. 6 fry in my grow out tank and getting too big.
Swap everything over, done. No cycle needed.

Swap substrate over - If you want to.

Put all old media into new filter, or simply run the old filter on the new tank.

Just make sure the water parameters are similar before swapping over filter media.
__________________

__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 03:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
That is surprisingly easy. Thanks, I may not end up getting that one but will definitely need a bigger tank.
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 09:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
In case you do stumble upon a drilled tank, add a bulkhead fitting if one is not present as well as a threaded cap. This will allow you to add the necessary plumbing for a sump in the future.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:28 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
It was drilled and I could use my old tank as the sump but it didn't com with a lid, proper heater, lights etc.
I have birds in my fish room so a proper lid is a must. Last thing I wasnt in the fish water is bird poop so the egg crate idea goes out the window.
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 12:16 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Another question. If I find a tank I like but my current stand is 0.5" too short, is that a problem?
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:14 PM   #7
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraB View Post
Another question. If I find a tank I like but my current stand is 0.5" too short, is that a problem?
Yes, big problem.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 03:56 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Ok thanks
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 07:09 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
One last thing. I'm torn between 2 different tanks. One is a 45 tall and only comes with the hood, lights and stand, the other is a 55 long that comes with everything but the stand. They are the same price and neither store has them in stock so I would have to order it.
Which would you choose? It's for my ever growing group of mollies.
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 07:57 AM   #10
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraB View Post
One last thing. I'm torn between 2 different tanks. One is a 45 tall and only comes with the hood, lights and stand, the other is a 55 long that comes with everything but the stand. They are the same price and neither store has them in stock so I would have to order it.
Which would you choose? It's for my ever growing group of mollies.
55 for sure. The dimensions make it seem larger than it is, you'll love a 4 foot tank.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 09:55 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Thanks. I was leaning towards that one because it came as a kit.
I'm going to order it today and see if they carry the stand.
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 09:59 AM   #12
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaraB View Post
Thanks. I was leaning towards that one because it came as a kit.
I'm going to order it today and see if they carry the stand.
Where are ordering from?

Stands for a 55 gal should be easy to come across - Kjiji, FB marketplace, big store vendors, or a simple DIY stand is fairly easy to build.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 02:38 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Paulmacs, they are a branch off of petvalu. Petsmart only sells the tank/stand combo (tall tanks only).
The person helping me couldn't find a stand. Kijiji only has smaller or larger tanks with the stand.
I don't want to resort to building but I can dust off my old high school carpentry skills.
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 08:52 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Last question. While waiting at the store I made the mistake of looking at the bettas and falling in love. I didn't get him (he was ice blue and had a cross on his head) but it did bring a question. Can a male betta be kept with mollies in a 55?
If not what are some other good fish that won't cause trouble?
__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 01:27 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
m.j.gomez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Farmington, n.m.
Posts: 157
Hello, it depends on temperment of fish. If I'm putting a betta in community tank I put him in a breeding net inside the tank he's going in for a couple wks. This way he gets used to activity of tankmates & they get used to him.
He'll flare for a while but eventually settle down. When you decide to release him leave net in tank hanging by one side in water so he has a safe place to retreat to. When you feel its safe for him & others you can pull net.
Be warned things can go sideways quickly. I put a baby fantail goldie in tank while setting its tank up & in a few hrs the betta decided he didn't like her & ripped tail fin apart. So be prepared to move betta if needed. Hope this helps!
__________________
m.j.gomez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2019, 03:04 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SaraB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,559
Yeah, thanks
__________________

__________________
SaraB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
question, questions, upgrade

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Filter Size - To Upgrade, Or Not To Upgrade! mylifeasben Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 13 06-15-2014 01:47 PM
I may have just gotten me a free tank upgrade... Big time upgrade! Mrs.h2012 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 21 09-14-2012 03:01 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade? JennaSimpson Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-15-2012 07:08 PM
Lighting upgrade have some questions WarOrks15 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 14 03-12-2004 08:24 PM
I have a few crazy questions about my upgrade aimeovaldi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 06-04-2003 01:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.