Used tank...would love some advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Yazy1987

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone
My story...My bf just bought me a used 12 nano cube, everything seems to be intact and I've decided to go fresh water since he bought the tank for my betta.
Couple questions...
I just want make sure that the 106 GPH pump that is included is good enough?
Are bio balls necessary? (I've read so many mixed reviews that skimmers and bio balls are not needed because of the size.)

Since the tank is used, do I need anything else besides the carbon, sponge and pump?
I'm fairly new to this hobby and have done a bit of research but would great value any of your recommendations or opinions.
Thanks everyone
-Yasmine

I'd recommend you get rid of the carbon. Use carbon to clean the tank of medications, or contamination, but if everything is good, leave the carbon out.

Bioballs are not very effective. They are supposed to provide a surface area for bacteria to live on. Ceramic rings or similar media would work better.

Bettas are tropical fish and do better with a stable temperature. I'd recommend a heater if you don't already have one.

What are you housing the betta in now?

Are you familiar with the ammonia cycle?

Edit: doing a little research myself, the pump might produce too much flow for the betta.

Just to add: Fill the tank outside to check it is water tight and will not destroy a section of your house. :) Don't trust any tank until you test it, but doubly so with second hand.

Okay so I will take the carbon out and yes I just read the article on the *ammonia* cycle.
I already have a heater and the temperature of the water is 72 degrees.

We also filled up the tank twice just to make sure it was okay before I brought it in my house :D

What is the betta in currently?