vacuums?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cole31818

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey, newbie here! Been reading the site for a while and have learned alot. I am starting with a 6 gal. tank for my daughter and am planning on working my way to larger tanks.

Anyways, everyone mentions getting a python to vacuum/water change, but I rather not drag a hose all the way across my house. I tried just a regular siphon, but it doesn't seem to have enough "power" to suck up and clean the gravel. Is there anything else that you can recommend - maybe a battery powered or similar?

Thanks for the advice!

I'd recommend getting a Lee's Mini Self Starting Gravel Vac. It's the perfect size for that size aquarium and works great. They don't need to pick up the gravel, just push the end into the gravel and it will pull out the accumulated mulm. Keep pushing it into different sections until you've cleaned out the area you planned or you've removed enough water for your water change, whichever comes first.

Don't bother with the battery powered vacuums. They're expensive and unnecessary, and don't always work that well.

I agree with Joy, I wouldn't waste your money on a battery powered one. I'm not sure where you are having the problems with your vacuum. My cheap regular gravel vac is more than powerful enough to lift up the regular sized gravel in my 10g (in my avatar) and larger substrate (big pebbles) in my 30g.

Are there any kinks in the hose? I'd say my gravel vacuum is about 6" long and the vacuum part is probably 1" diameter.

All you need is a 6 ft length of 3/4" see thru plastic pvc hose from the hardware store. Being 6 ft long, you won't get any water in your mouth if you suck from the bucket end and watch when the water gets over the edge of the tank. Have a bucket ready and use your thumb to control water flow.