Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2006, 12:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 69
Water change procedure?

I use NutraFin AquaPlus+ to remove chlorine and chloramine from my tap water... this is a bit of a grey area for me... this is how I have always done it so please tell me if this is bad and a better way of doing things when doing water changes:

1). Gravel vac/remove water from tank
2). Fill empty bucket with tap water.
3). Boil water in the kettle and add to bucket of water to make the water temperature warmer for adding to the tank.
4). Add required amount of AquaPlus to the bucket.
5). Swirl hand around in bucket to mix the dechlorinater etc and make sure the water is warm enough.
6). Add to the tank again.

I am just unsure how long I should be perhaps waiting to let the AquaPlus take its affect on the water before putting it into the tank, or is putting it straight into the tank from the bucket fine as it will get swirled around the tank by the filter and can do it's job then anyway?

Many thanks.
__________________

__________________
27g Freshwater Tropical Tank:

Plants:
2 Lilaeopsis brasiliensis
1 Microsorum pteropus
1 Echinodorus palaefolius var. latifolius
1 Echinodorus bleheri (paniculatus)
1 Echinodorus x barthii

Equipment:
Hagen Tronic Heater (150)
Fluval 3+ Underwater Filter
Whisper 900 Air Pump (1 Curtain, 1 Stone)
2 x 24'' Flourescent Bulbs - Aqua-Glow, Sun Glow
Fluval Glass Aquarium 80cm x 35cm x 40cm (126 Litres/27 G.)
gmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:38 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bristol, Pa
Posts: 5,972
Send a message via AIM to lmw80 Send a message via MSN to lmw80 Send a message via Yahoo to lmw80
I put my declorinator in the bottom of my bucket before I add the water, that way it mixes in good, then I just add it right to my tank.

How come you boil water? Do you have a hot water faucet?
__________________

__________________
-Lori
Join the Eastern PA/Greater Philadelphia Forum! Click here: https://www.aquariumadvice.com/groupcp.php?g=7825

Aquariums are like jello - there's always room for more.
lmw80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 69
I do have a hot water faucet but I just find it easier to get a decent temperature that works for me with the water volume size etc by filling it with cold tap water and adding 1 kettle full of hot water... seems about the right temperature to me anyways.
__________________
27g Freshwater Tropical Tank:

Plants:
2 Lilaeopsis brasiliensis
1 Microsorum pteropus
1 Echinodorus palaefolius var. latifolius
1 Echinodorus bleheri (paniculatus)
1 Echinodorus x barthii

Equipment:
Hagen Tronic Heater (150)
Fluval 3+ Underwater Filter
Whisper 900 Air Pump (1 Curtain, 1 Stone)
2 x 24'' Flourescent Bulbs - Aqua-Glow, Sun Glow
Fluval Glass Aquarium 80cm x 35cm x 40cm (126 Litres/27 G.)
gmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 2,294
i add my dechlorinator (prime) to the tank as i am filling it with my python (fancy gravel vac that hooks up to faucet) the python also will such out water...so not buckets for me just have to match water to approximate temp...
__________________
Just because I am working at Petco does not mean I am a sell out, they are still an evil empire, that I am trying to make better.
75 Gallon: New World Cichlids|26 Gallon Bowfront: Planted Angelfish/Swordtail Tank|20 Gallon Long: "Nano" non-reef|10 Gallon: frog and mosquito fish
JDogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:58 PM   #5
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
I do it pretty much identically to you, gmac, although I get my hot water from the tap, and use Prime as opposed to Aquaplus.
__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's Your water change procedure? jw Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-29-2007 10:19 AM
Am i using correct procedure to add water to SW tank? ChazYork Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 12-13-2005 04:44 PM
Wondering what the correct procedure is for water changes imustbenuts Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 10-19-2005 09:25 AM
what is the procedure for changing water?? nosebleed Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-17-2005 11:14 PM
proper water changing procedure philly Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 15 09-20-2004 09:57 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.