Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-03-2006, 06:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 69
Water changes

OKay I am finally done with my fishless cycle (as of today) both nitrites and amonia fell down to 0ppm.
I know that i need to do a 50% water change b4 I get fish.

How do I go about doing a water change, i do not have any hose/vaccum system but I have a friend who does.

Is it crutial to change out the water with a gravel vac right now or can i simply scoop out 1/2 the water (because i do not have any fish yet)

I understand the reason for using a gravel vac th change water when you have fish in your tank, i just didnt know if there was any other reasons to do that right now or if I could just scoup 1/2 of the water out and replaces it.

(I do have PRIME to dechlorinated/condition the new water so i have that part covered)
__________________

__________________
Tukie2kie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 06:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
JohnPaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,017
For now, just scooping the water is fine. Only need to gravel vac once you start dealing with fish waste in the gravel. In fact, since some of your beneficial bacteria are likely growing on the surface of the gravel, I would avoid disturbing it any more than necessary for the first few weeks.
__________________

__________________
JohnPaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 06:55 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pullman, WA
Posts: 240
While I encourage you to get a gravel vac ASAP. you will be fine with just doing a water only change.

Also, I encourage the use of a python (or lee's ultimate vac) over the standard gravel vac and bucket if you have an aquarium larger than 10 gallons.

http://www.pythonproducts.com/nospill.htm
http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS...avelvacuum50ft
__________________
CaptnIgnit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water changes

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water submersion switch to turn off filter pump if water helicopter DIY Projects 7 03-31-2007 04:54 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 01:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 02:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 09:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 08:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.