Water Chemistry Problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hermaniak

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I need help stabilizing my water.
I have a well, the water is filtered and softened.
I also have a RO unit for drinking water.

My regular water has a KH of around 200 ppm, but the GH is near zero.
My RO water has a KH of zero and a GH of zero.

I am not sure how this is possible.

Any suggestions on raising the GH?

We would like to keep guppies, but have killed a half of a dozen so far. I used a commercial pH stabilizer with buffer-but this did not help. I suspect the pH is fluctuating wildly due to the very low GH.

Any ideas?

Thank you!

I've got no direct experience with dealing with soft water, a little bit of quick researching suggests putting crushed coral in the tank as a source of minerals to harden the water.

Of course as you do water changes, you don't want to make sudden changes to the water quality. You should be able to avoid sudden water chemistry changes if you "pre-treat" your water for water changes by keeping a large bucket with crushed coral in it as well. The day or so before you do a water change, place the water in the bucket with the crushed coral to give the new water a chance to harden up some before adding it to the tank.

I need help stabilizing my water.

I have a well, the water is filtered and softened.

I also have a RO unit for drinking water.

My regular water has a KH of around 200 ppm, but the GH is near zero.

My RO water has a KH of zero and a GH of zero.

I am not sure how this is possible.

Any suggestions on raising the GH?

We would like to keep guppies, but have killed a half of a dozen so far. I used a commercial pH stabilizer with buffer-but this did not help. I suspect the pH is fluctuating wildly due to the very low GH.

Any ideas?

Thank you!