Water clarity using Sponge Filter

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JJenna

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm new to sponge filters and wonder if my expectations are too high for getting clear water. I have a 10 gal tank with a small sponge filter from ACO in it. It's been set up for a couple of months now and has ~25 neos and 4 Mystery Snails in it. I also have a 125 gal and 40 breeder that have canister filters. The 2 larger tanks are crystal clear but the shrimp tank always looks hazy.

Initially I had a small piece of driftwood in it for biofilm to grow on and had a small piece of cholla wood. While I was waiting for the biofilm to grow I had a small clump of Java Moss just free floating for the shrimp to have a hidey place. Was going to glue the moss to the driftwood. The water pretty quickly turned brownish from the tannins. I don't mind the tannins coloring the water but in the last couple of weeks the water began to look hazy. I assumed it was a bacterial bloom but noticed that the Java moss was turning brown on the bottom so removed that and replaced with some Subwassertang on ledges and some Water Sprite. Also removed the driftwood.

Parameters are good. Using remineralized R/O water, parameters are pH 7.4, Nitrites 0 Nitrates 10, GH 8, KH 4. Snails have begun to lay clutches, and shrimp are having babies.

I've done 25% water changes (one with plain R/O water and one with remineralized R/O water) and the water is still hazy. I've seen videos of tanks with sponge filters that are crystal clear and it makes me wonder what am I missing? Any thoughts what is causing the haziness and or is there anything I can do to clear up the water?

Attachments

• Shrimp Tank.jpg
    Shrimp Tank.jpg
    197.9 KB · Views: 31