Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2011, 01:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
akkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alaska
Posts: 132
Water Conditioner?

I am cycling two tanks (10 gal and a 2.5), readings in both are pH 7.6, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 2.0 and Nitrate 20. I am doing PWC every other day. I am on well water so I don't worry about chlorene and chemicals in my water, should I be adding water conditioner during the PWC?

Yes I know I should have done it fishless cycle, but I an a noob to this and its too late now. And, before you say anything about the 2.5 I am getting another tank this weekend to do a fishless cycle to put the beta in.

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
akkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 01:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
from what I have read here you should put water conditioner in all water that goes into the fish tank. But I am a noob too.
__________________

__________________
TonyMontana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 01:52 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 192
It can't hurt to put Prime or another good dechlornater in the water. It kills ammonia and nitrites for hopefully 24 hours after adding it. As for not cycling, just keep doing water changes and the fish will be ok.
__________________
amesdrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 02:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
akkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alaska
Posts: 132
Ok, I will pick something up to add when I do my PWC tomorrow night. I haven't been adding anything because I don't have chlorine in my water. But the last two times I did a PWC I lost a guppy and wondered if that was why.
__________________
akkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 02:14 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dkpate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Issaquah, Washington
Posts: 7,074
If you have well water, you don't NEED dechlor, but Prime will detoxify ammonia and nitrites, therefore making them harmless to your fish. You will still get a false positive reading for them though.

Why don't you want to put your betta in the 2.5 gallon?
__________________
~Darby
dkpate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 02:18 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
akkitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Alaska
Posts: 132
Actually Darby the betta is in the 2.5 gal. But he looked like he needed more room so...thats why the new tank. I am thinking the new one will be a 16 or 20 gal (not a lot of space), once it is cycled, I will move the cherry barbs and guppies to it and put the betta in the 10gal with some new friends. Then I can use the 2.5 as a quartine tank if needed.
__________________
akkitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 04:47 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dkpate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Issaquah, Washington
Posts: 7,074
Well that sounds nice! I have 4 bettas split between two 10 gallon tanks. He will love the bigger tank I am sure. If you have had him in the 2.5 gallon, you can use stuff from that to seed the new tanks, and it will make the cycle go much faster.
Where in AK are you? My cousins live in Valdez and Eagle River. I LOVE it up there in the summer, my husband and I had our honeymoon in Valdez.
__________________

__________________
~Darby
dkpate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condition, water condition, water conditioner

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Marine Water Conditioner to filtered water? sdergar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-17-2010 12:16 PM
Brightwell Aquatics Black Water Conditioner for Fresh Water Aquaria AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 09-14-2010 07:50 PM
water conditioner drummerj Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 09-06-2006 05:04 PM
water conditioner what is is foma2000 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 01-31-2005 02:24 AM
Tap Water Conditioner or Distilled water blaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-03-2004 11:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.