Water level issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Scuba-Doo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone,

I am new to this and have recently got my first tank - it is a 65L and has 3 mollies, 2 guppies, 3 tetras & 2 African dwarf frogs.

I have already been told it is already over-stocked. It appears I didn’t cycle it correctly before adding the fish but I did exactly what I was told to do my my LFS.

I unfortunately lost one guppy & have today tested my water levels and they are not good.

I have a high range pH level of 8.2
An ammonia level of 1.00ppm
A nitrite level of around 2.00ppm
And a nitrate level of between 20-40ppm

I am absolutely gutted as I have tried so hard to follow advice as best I can and have been obsessing over these fish - I really do not want to lose them all :(

Any help and advice on how I can get my water to safer levels would be greatly appreciated!

Please no judging I have just followed the advice I was given and I am very eager to learn!

Thanks

Attachments

• 72CDB3E7-222D-4B71-AD74-5AFB53B777C7.jpg
    72CDB3E7-222D-4B71-AD74-5AFB53B777C7.jpg
    148.7 KB · Views: 19
Hi Scuba

Sorry you got some bad advice from the fish store. Thats a very common story.

Long term solution to overstocking is to either get a larger aquarium or reduce the stocking.

For now though, you need to do whats called a "fish in" cycle. Test the water daily, and if you see any detectable ammonia or nitrites then do a 25% water change. Over time, you should eventually see 0ppm ammonia and nitrite daily, and your nitrates rising. This is when your aquarium is cycled sufficiently for the fish/frogs you have in there. As your ammonia is quite high, I would do a 50% water change right off the bat.

To assist with the cycling you should consider the following.