What Fish Should I Put In A 10 Gallon Tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

xmaryelizabeth

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
As my last post on here stated, I am new to more complex fish tanks.

I was wondering what types of fish would be well suited for my 10 Gallon Tank? Also, what features, decorations or live plants would they need?

You have some options. Some examples are:

-- 6-8 nano fish like ember tetra, chili rasbora or celestial pearl danio. Unfortunately nano fish can be hard to find locally (I bought my CPD from a breeder online). Most tetras, danios and rasboras are too active for a 10 gal but nano fish would work; just be sure they are truly nano fish. Neon tetras for example are small but very active and would prefer a larger tank (although some disagree) and aren't truly nano fish. You could also do 1-2 scarlet badis (again not easy to find) and maybe 4 pygmy or dwarf cory (again corys are debatable in a small tank due to their activity level. Pygmy or dwarfs are the smallest ones, don't get any of the larger types, but again they can be hard to find). OR
-- a single betta (very entertaining, I love mine). You can add some shrimp or snails or even the corys if the betta tolerates them (some tolerate tank mates, some won't) OR
-- 3-4 guppies OR
-- 2-3 platy OR
-- 3 african dwarf frogs OR
-- 2 dwarf puffers

There are other options, those are just a few.

You have some options. Some examples are: