Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-07-2020, 07:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10
What substrate for a new tank

I'm redoing my planted 30 gal tank and can't figure out what would be best for substrate. I have Carib Eco Sea in there now and my pH hangs around 7.4. I does with Thrive weekly and have CO2.

I was considering keeping the Eco Sea and adding a plant soil like Flourite Black Sand, but I was unsure whether I should use something like Amazonia to soften/acidify the water. Any advice on a combination of substrates that will give my plants the calcium they need while keeping the pH from getting too high? I'd like to keep the pH around 7.0
__________________

__________________
Slappy Kincaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 08:53 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fearlessfisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 825
Not sure--you might want to repost this in the Planted Tanks forum.



Good luck.
__________________

__________________
joy to the fishes in the deep blue sea
________________________________
55, 30, 30, 20, 10, and 10-gal. freshwater tropical tanks
fearlessfisch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2020, 09:09 AM   #3
ZxC
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ZxC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest City, Ontario
Posts: 1,648
Eco-Complete and Flourite are inert substrates, and offer no nutrients for plants to use. They have very low cation exchange capacities and instead, trap a lot of detritus that rots away in the substrate.

If your degassed pH is around 7.4 that's fine, what is your pH when you are injecting CO2? CO2 drops pH but over 1.0 in many cases.
__________________
____________________________________________

If it were easy we wouldn't be here
ZxC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 06:12 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 10
My pH is 7.4-7.6 with the CO2 injection.
__________________
Slappy Kincaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, new tank, substrate, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shrimp substrate vs. Planted tank substrate for shrimp Autumnsky Freshwater & Brackish - Invertebrates 1 08-07-2018 03:46 PM
Fertiliser Substrate under gravel substrate mwe_ch Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 08-07-2010 05:44 PM
Cleaning Substrate When Substrate is Fully Covered in Plants beauxarts Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 07-08-2010 10:26 PM
2questions1post, Refugium lighting substrate/Tank Substrate divemasterjim Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 04-23-2006 06:46 PM
Substrate and substrate cleaning questions Kilgore Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 04-17-2006 04:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.