What to do next? Tank cycling...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maltee

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am trying to do a fishless cycle of a 5 gallon aquarium. I have a heater set at 80 degrees and a few live plants in there. It's my first time cycling an aquarium.

I followed the instructions from the pinned article on this website, which was very helpful, but I seemed to get stuck on the last few steps. I had the large nitrite and nitrate spike, then did the 50% water change as the instructions said, but as I waited, my ammonia never went down to 0. It would only go down so far as .25, and then stay there for days. I decided to keep dosing up to 2 ppm of ammonia and hopefully it would soon go down to 0 in 24 hours, but that never happened.

I last dosed up to 2ppm of ammonia a week ago, and it's STILL at a full 2 ppm of ammonia today.

These are my readings:

ammonia - 2
ph - 7.0
NitrItes - 0
nitrates - 20

It seems to me that my cycle has stalled. Where should I go from here?

I am trying to do a fishless cycle of a 5 gallon aquarium. I have a heater set at 80 degrees and a few live plants in there. It's my first time cycling an aquarium.

I followed the instructions from the pinned article on this website, which was very helpful, but I seemed to get stuck on the last few steps. I had the large nitrite and nitrate spike, then did the 50% water change as the instructions said, but as I waited, my ammonia never went down to 0. It would only go down so far as .25, and then stay there for days. I decided to keep dosing up to 2 ppm of ammonia and hopefully it would soon go down to 0 in 24 hours, but that never happened.

I last dosed up to 2ppm of ammonia a week ago, and it's STILL at a full 2 ppm of ammonia today.

These are my readings:

ammonia - 2
ph - 7.0
NitrItes - 0
nitrates - 20