Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-20-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
What Would You Do? Help?

Okay - I have posted a couple of times that my 72 gallon is ready to go after starting a fishless cycle on like Feb 1st/2nd (I tracked in Excel spreadsheet exactly what I did each day according to the almost complete guide to fishless cycle from here). Today I did my water changes to get the trates down. (I did a 90% change and then 2 partials using Kent dechlorinator).

I have .50 ammonia that comes right out of my tap. I waited 2 hours after my last PWC and tested. Trates are down to 40 (from like 160 ish) so that's good. But I can see a slight green hue on the ammonia and a slight darker turquoise on the trites with the API kit. I wouldn't say a full .25 on the ammonia or the trites. But leaning in that direction.

I planned on adding my angel fish and my gourami from my 36 gallon tonight. It's been 2 hours since my last test. Should I test again? Add my fish tonight if Okay... Or wait until the AM and test and if Okay add my fish?

And if some slight ammonia & trites are showing up - well... I'm gun shy.

(in closing I dosed to 4ppm 3 days in a row and the the trites and ammonia were gone in 24hours... Which is why I water changed today - I removed no seeded media and added a fake plant and an ornament from my other tank) Nothing but good...

WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

Janelle
__________________

__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:20 PM   #2
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
Two hours is probably not enough time for the bacteria to convert it. You probably tested as it was being converted which is why you saw some nitrite as well. YOu could do a very large water change tonight and add fish if you wanted. Or you could play it safe and wait until tomorrow to test and do a pwc if nitrates are still high (you ideally want them as low as you can get them before you put fish in) and then add the fish.
__________________

__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:23 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stefernini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 252
I'd wait til tomorrow and test again, I wouldn't trust the ammo and nitrites. I would also do another big water change tonight or tomorrow to get your nitrates down some more. I'd get them at least below 20 if not more.

I only recently cycled a tank and had to wait a few more days than I thought I would because of high nitrates as well. I had to do two 90% and a 50% to get mine below 20 initially. I did another about 40% just to be safe before I put fish in.
__________________
"The solution to pollution is dilution. If in doubt, do a few PWCs."
55 gallon, Gus and Fred the ryukins
10 gallon, Bart the Betta
Stefernini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
My trates are the same level as my 36 gallon. 40 is as low as I can ever get them (even with that tank doing 2-3 water changes and gravel vacuums per week... sad...)

But I will take your advice and do another 50%. Should I gravel vacuum or no...?? The trates aren't in the water, right? the 90% water change virtually did nothing to the trates. I gravel vacuumed on the 2nd change and that is when they came down to 40. The 3rd water change with no gravel vacuum kept them at 40. I hate to suck out the good stuff!
Janelle
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:57 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stefernini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 252
I think the nitrates are in the water. I haven't done any gravel vacs at all yet (too worried about bringing up plants, and not enough waste to worry about yet anyway).

That's really odd you can't get them below 40, have you tested your tap water?
__________________
"The solution to pollution is dilution. If in doubt, do a few PWCs."
55 gallon, Gus and Fred the ryukins
10 gallon, Bart the Betta
Stefernini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:05 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
Yeah I have tested the tap. I wonder if I can't get them below 40ppm because of the ammonia coming straight from the tap? But there are NO trates or trites in the tap water. High ph (8.4) and .50 ammonia.

I was killing myself trying to get the trates in the 36 gallon lower and for like 2 weeks I water changed almost every other day, not lower than 40. Yesterday AND today I did a vacuum and water change - and guess what...? 40ppm? I rinse my filters in tank water only, I have removed the biowheels from the penguins - and still 40ppm... :P

I finally decided that steady is good?
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:07 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
(oh - might I add that my trates are 40 in both of my 10 gallon tanks always also???)
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
Yeah I have tested the tap. I wonder if I can't get them below 40ppm because of the ammonia coming straight from the tap? But there are NO trates or trites in the tap water. High ph (8.4) and .50 ammonia.

I was killing myself trying to get the trates in the 36 gallon lower and for like 2 weeks I water changed almost every other day, not lower than 40. Yesterday AND today I did a vacuum and water change - and guess what...? 40ppm? I rinse my filters in tank water only, I have removed the biowheels from the penguins - and still 40ppm... :P

I finally decided that steady is good?
Why remove the bio wheel? Bacteria grow here to!
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
IMHO - it was BAD bacteria... They collected a bunch of gunk...

I'm so happy I took those stupid biowheels out of my filters in my 36 gallon... Phew...

Plenty of good bacteria in an established tank and established filter media!

(I have two of these penguin 200s, and I removed the wheels one at a time over the period of a month).

!!!!!!
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
Oh & the biowheels are also now being used to seed my 72 gallon tank after they were rinsed with tank water. They came in useful for sure!
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:20 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
IMHO - it was BAD bacteria... They collected a bunch of gunk...

I'm so happy I took those stupid biowheels out of my filters in my 36 gallon... Phew...

Plenty of good bacteria in an established tank and established filter media!

(I have two of these penguin 200s, and I removed the wheels one at a time over the period of a month).

!!!!!!
Mine are slimy but not alot of gunk on them.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:23 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
They were disgusting.... And really noisy on top of that.

I'm about to install a Fluval G3 on that tank in addition to one of the penguins taking the other out (no room for all of it back there).
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:25 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
They were disgusting.... And really noisy on top of that.

I'm about to install a Fluval G3 on that tank in addition to one of the penguins taking the other out (no room for all of it back there).
I've got a fx5 on mine along with the hob
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:31 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
I have the FX5 on my 72 gallon that is just done cycling - what size tank do you have? That's a ton of filtration! Wow...
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:36 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
I have the FX5 on my 72 gallon that is just done cycling - what size tank do you have? That's a ton of filtration! Wow...
I have a 150 gal. Love my water to sparkle!!!!!
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:37 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
I bet it does!
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:40 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
I bet it does!
It does but something strange is going on and I can't figure out what it is. Its like once I added the fx5 it started to mini cycle and haven't figured out why.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:41 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
I bet it does!
It really does.
__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:43 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Illinois
Posts: 287
the FX 5 is rated high for filtration - perhaps it is pulling far more than the HOB and causing that to happen??? I worry about that for adding the G3 to the 36 with 1 penguin???
__________________
Fish "Getting" is easy. It is the Fish "Keeping" that is the hard part.
jmpgop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 09:46 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
boadams87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kershaw SC
Posts: 1,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpgop
the FX 5 is rated high for filtration - perhaps it is pulling far more than the HOB and causing that to happen??? I worry about that for adding the G3 to the 36 with 1 penguin???
That's what im thinking too. Im keeping an eye and doing frequent wc.
__________________

__________________
boadams87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know you're an aquarist if...(just for fun) nextgeneration40 Aquaria Off-Topic 1299 02-24-2012 07:35 AM
Huge emergency! New Setup Overstocked and not Cycled Jess1ca Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 172 02-21-2012 09:26 PM
What is this i cant figure it out Reefpete Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 02-21-2012 12:23 AM
Green Chromis help!!!! _aurelia_ Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 02-20-2012 08:21 PM
Need Help!! New_Love_For_Cichlids Cichlid Discussion 19 02-20-2012 08:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.