What you wish you knew

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

shramp

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
What do you wish you had known before getting an aquarium?? I figure it could be a helpful thread to people wanting to get into fishkeeping! (Keep in mind I am fairly new to fish keeping myself so if I say anything inaccurate pleeeeease correct me).

1. Do a fishless cycle on your tank before adding any livestock. When I got my first ever fish when I was 17 I had not a clue what cycling was. Oh my gosh did that give me some stressful times when I woke up to my black moor goldfish that I kept in a 10 gallon tank swimming around frantically with white spots all over him that I swear looked like burns and I ended up finding out my acidity and ammonia levels were of course awful and ended up discovering cycling through that. Thankfully he survived the cycling process but I never want to intentionally put an animal through that again. Fast forward to present day and I finally have a tank again, I made sure to do a fishless cycle this time. So much less stressful. I think cycling is really confusing and complicated so I don't blame people for being intimidated by it, but I found this guide very helpful and straightforward https://fishlab.com/how-to-cycle-aquarium/