when should I change filter pads?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

trickshot3102

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi, I have a 10 gal tank and I read on several sites that say to never change your filter pads. Is this true? I know that alot of good bacteria live in the filter media, so I can see why you wouldn't change them. Also, what if the filter pad gets full of dirt or gets clogged?

One more question about the good bacteria, if you scrape the glass of your tank, will that get rid of good bacteria? I ask because I had diatoms on he side of my newly cycled tank and now it appears slightly cloudy after I cleaned the side with a sponge. Is that just dirt from the diatoms?
Thanks!!!!

:fish2:

I'm no expert but many people told me the same about the filters, the carbon filter many people don't even use unless getting rid of medication they had added to the tank. That pad gathers tons and tons of beneficial bacteria.
What I've done from advice from all these lovely ppl is put dirty tank water in a bucket and rinse the filter out in the bucket. Tap water will kill bacteria. This will help clogs and buildup. What I've gathered is people wait until the filter is literally falling apart! I haven't gotten to that point yet but I do have a 10 gal that has had the same filter for 2-3 months now and all I've done is rinse in dirty tank water and pop it back in.
I think once it gets to the point where I should change it I'm going to cut the blue mesh from the filter and stick that in with the new filter so the beneficial bacteria isn't completely taken out of the picture! Idk if people do that but I think it might be a good idea.
I hope this helps! Other people will deff chime in but from the help I've gotten, it's the best advice I have to offer to you :) best of luck!