When will it ever end?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sissy58

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a newbie and I am so thankful that I found this website because at several points I have really freaked 8O out with what has been happening with cycling. I had no clue from the instuctions or the IFS. I really don't understand when you buy your first tank the instructions go against every thing that you REALLY need to look out for and do. I am in the 2nd month and thought that I had the tank from :twisted: but thanks to this website I found that it's normal (cycling). I think that I crashed my tank at first but now understand somewhat of what has to happen. I have a few questions...I have a 29 gal FW tank with 1 Rosy Barb, 1 cherry Barb, two guppies and 1 molly. I am in the NitrIte phase (can't tell if 5ppm or 10ppm on test strip, not quite either one) and have 40ppm NitrAte and 0 Ammonia

1. How long does the NitrIte phase take. It has been high for 1 1/2 weeks? I used aquarium salt to help and the fish have been very active, playfull and are always the little beggars at feeding time.

2. I have the nasty brown algae :( on my panes and gravel and a few plastic plants. I read somewhere that alot of new tanks go through this. Do I just clean and wait it out or what? I don't want to use any chemicals because I believe this is what crashed my cycle the first time because I had a molly that had ich and treated with Quick Cure.

3. What is an algae eater that I could get (when I can ever get more fish because of this :!: cycle) that won't take up too much room in my tank but get the job done?

I know that I have more questions but these are the most important at this time.