Where to buy my stuff? Stand and sizing questions too...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sirwired

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Are the tanks sold in a LFS any better than the tanks at PetSmart/WalMart/Petco? Or are there ratings of tanks somewhere that I can be looking at?

As a complete novice, I have a hard time telling the difference between brands of tanks, especially since I can't put them side-by-side. Are there any real differences between a TopFin from PetSmart and a tank from an LFS?

I would be willing to pay a little more for a tank if it means it will last longer without leaking and/or be less likely to pop seals during transport.

The fish are almost certainly going to come from a LFS. (Although I was at PetSmart last night (the one in Brier Creek, for any Raleigh, NC locals), and to my unpracticed eye, they didn't seem too bad. The fish seemed pretty active, the tanks looked clean, and I didn't see any obviously diseased fish. (Although one fish, although live, was pretty still in the middle of the tank with the head tilted up at 45 degrees.)

Any issues with buying all the filter equipment, gravel, chemicals, etc. at a superstore? Naturally, if I were to do so, I would not pick the brains of the LFS and then turn around and buy the equipment somewhere else, which is why I am asking so many questions here.

About aquarium stands: Is there any kind that is better than another. I feel nervous about the wrought iron stands that put the entire weight of the tank on four narrow legs. It isn't the stand I am worried about, but rather the floor. What are the chances of me denting my laminate floor?