would like your opinion...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rgosdin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I would like to start out that i am new to this hobby....like brand new besides small small tanks in the past. i figure there there is no place better to ask about these questions than here, so here we go.

I was at the pet store picking up some dog stuff when i walked past the fish dept and saw a rather large sale going on. a 55g starter tank was half off as well as assorted other items. i went ahead and purchased it since i am impulsive as hell and its contents was this. Tank, LED light/hood, Heater, Light Timer, Thermometer, HOB filter, and a bunch of odds and ends that company's give you. for the low cost of $117.00. at the same time as i was being my impulsive self i noticed the "canister" filters and asked the store rep if these were better than what came in it and was instantly convinced to purchase the Marineland C360 half off for $79.00

i have not put any fish in the tank. i started my research the moment i got home and have now been "cycling" my tank for 2 days.