Yay, it doesn't look horrible, and yay Bio-Spira!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Corty

Aquarium Advice FINatic
This is more a story than useful information, but hey.. I'm excited, and I need to put this all somewhere.

I had set up a tank for my friend (her first.. ok, I'm not an expert, but better I help than she get her advice from the average PetCo employee), and she had grown more and more excited as time went on, wanting to feed the fish more than she should ("I couldn't help it, I gave them a little extra snack.."), wanting more plants, even wanting to do a water change (!).

I'm taking in three fish from a friend of my mother's tomorrow - two Cory Cats and one adult Angelfish. She's moving, and doesn't want to take them with her. I was all excited about introducing them to their new home, and getting them out of the ten gallon (!) they were in, where they were recieving chemicals instead of water changes, and cycling was an unfamiliar word. I knew they would be so happy to get into a nice roomy 55 gallon, with stable levels, and the friend (who did not purchase the fish, they were a gift), would know they were safe and not in some LFS she didn't know (she really does care about her fish, even though they weren't intentional additions).

I walk in on Wednesday, and I see one very very very empty tank. Apparently, my friend changed her mind, and didn't want the responsibility.

I asked what had happened to easily $60 worth of plants. She had put them in the compost heap.

I asked what had happened to the gravel. She said it was drying, but not very well.. because it was outside, and it was raining.

I asked what had happened to the filter. It was upside down, entirely dry, media missing, in the water change bucket.

I almost cried.