Zachw - 10G

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zachw2193

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am a new member and I am also new to to the hobby. I just started a 10 gallon freshwater tank about 3 weeks with one gold panda platy and 3 peppered corydora cats. I've been doing my 25% water changes every week, and will do one later today. My water is still a little cloudy and ammonia was very high two days ago when I performed my last water change. Also, I have a Fluval 30 HOB filter and air stone disk. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated as I start this new hobby.

Quick tank update. I lost my gold panda platy today and I discovered I have two female Cory's and one male. I started seeing eggs on the walls of the tank last night and noticed the sacs on the bottom of two of the Cory's. What should I do with the eggs? I don't have a big enough tank to keep them all. Also, what would be some good tankmates for the Cory's? I've lost platys in the past two months and I'm unsure why. Any ideas or advice for new tankmates and what to do with the Cory eggs would be appreciated. Thanks in advance ☺

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Last edited by a moderator:
Your tank might not be cycled. Or you could be experiencing a mini cycle.

If you change the filter pads for cleaning and throw away the pads you are throwing away any beneficial bacteria / BB that is growing to keep the tank in the nitrogen cycle. If you wash/rinse them in untreated tap water you are killing the BB. Keep the same filter pad til it is literally falling apart and rinse in pwc water and/or treated water to remove Chlorine and Chloramines, etc.