bubble tip green anemone wont come out

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

waynespedd

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:confused:hi peeps just wonded if u could help just brought a green bubble tip anemone first couple of days he was fine but when i turn the lights on in the morning he wont come out the only way i get him to come out is if i move the rock hes on then hes happy all day! also in the morning he always chucks out a little brown gunge from his mouth, im new to these guys but any help would be good

Anemones are the same as any other lviing organism, it's going to migrate to the area that it finds most suitable. Unfortunatley that's the name of the game, and moving to the back it may have found it's most favorable spot.

I can't tell you exactly what's comming out from it's mouth, but generally I have never seen this as a good sign. How old is your tank (How long has it been cycled?)? The general rule of thumb is 6+ months before adding any sort of anemone to the tank (They do best in mature tanks where your water parameters arnt bouncing around as much).

hi there my tanks only 2 months old so i think ive jumped the gun buying it! i feel bad now poor thing!!!!! like i say if i move the rock hes on he come out all day but when i turn lights on in the morning hes closed rite up so far in the gap of the rocks but even after 2 to 3 hours still no sign of him coming out but then i move the rock and he seems happy and the clowns love him, thanks for getting back bbecher

What type of lights do you have? The stuff that comes is when the expel wastes.

hi joy i have t8 i was told they dont need alot because they come from deeper in the water! so is this stuff he chucks out ok

thats actually is not true all anemones need lots of light, you can keep them wit 2 54w t5 at a minimum, well at least condy nems