Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2012, 03:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Cyanobacteria or general algae??

Ok a friend has an aquarium that is having a major algae bloom.

Should i use/try api em erythromycin or algicide?
__________________

__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
First you should find out the cause of the algae. Too much light, too much food or too much nitrate or phosphate. Fix the problem and the algae will go away with water changes and syphoning.
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
First you should find out the cause of the algae. Too much light, too much food or too much nitrate or phosphate. Fix the problem and the algae will go away with water changes and syphoning.
All my readings are good and i change water every week.
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
What are the readings? Good is pretty vague. Algae feeds off excess nutrients in the tank. Need to find out what it is. Better to solve the cause than dump chemicals in the tank.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
What are the readings? Good is pretty vague. Algae feeds off excess nutrients in the tank. Need to find out what it is. Better to solve the cause than dump chemicals in the tank.
Oh i agree hold on ill get my book
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 03:24 PM   #6
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Openbrain View Post
Should i use/try api em erythromycin or algicide?
You dont want to do anything anti bacterial as it will kill your nitrifying bacteria and you wont have any to complete the cycle.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58

You dont want to do anything anti bacterial as it will kill your nitrifying bacteria and you wont have any to complete the cycle.
Then why do they sell this stuff??
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58

You dont want to do anything anti bacterial as it will kill your nitrifying bacteria and you wont have any to complete the cycle.
I cant find my book. My calcium and phosphates are normal ranges. The lights are on a timer. 8 hrs a day. They feed very small amounts to only two fish. Its a 30 gal.

Ive tried vacuuming it, water changes, powerhead to the surface.

My only thought may be the light bulbs. I may replace them all. It is unknown how old they are.
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:25 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
I feed every other day. Lights for 10 hours a day and have a sand sifting goby in my 29 gallon and still have a little algae.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 04:27 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
I feed every other day. Lights for 10 hours a day and have a sand sifting goby in my 29 gallon and still have a little algae.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2116922267.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	159.9 KB
ID:	97530

See?
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 05:54 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
Looks like both, Cyanobacteria and hair algea.
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 06:35 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flreefer
Looks like both, Cyanobacteria and hair algea.
Well i dosed with eryth. I will dose again tmrw then change 35%.

ill keep you all posted.

I used RO water and have never used chemicals before. I like the "natural" way but this has been ongoing for 2 months.

When i vacuum all if it and do a water change its ok for at least 3 days then it starts again.

Anymore advice out there??
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
Old bulbs will definitely make an algea issue worse. I would definitely change them out, if you think they are older than 12 months.
If your only feeding a small amount, and your source water is pure, the only thing I could suggest is maybe a GFO reactor. I don't have one myself, but have heard of great results reducing an algea problem with one.
Best of luck getting it under control.
I can't comment on the erythromycin, as I've never used it.
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 12:47 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flreefer
Old bulbs will definitely make an algea issue worse. I would definitely change them out, if you think they are older than 12 months.
If your only feeding a small amount, and your source water is pure, the only thing I could suggest is maybe a GFO reactor. I don't have one myself, but have heard of great results reducing an algea problem with one.
Best of luck getting it under control.
I can't comment on the erythromycin, as I've never used it.
Gfo?

I will change my bulbs

And i just did a 60% water change and got rid of the eryth.... It makes me nervous.

Ill post a pic of the tank all cleaned up tmrw.... Its 1am and i just got done weeeew!
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 12:58 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
GFO is granulated ferric oxide. It's a phosphate remover, phosphate being one of the main contributing factors to algea outbreaks, along with nitrates. GFO won't help with the algea already present, but it will help retard any more growth. In a clean system, GFO will help keep outbreaks from occurring.
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flreefer
GFO is granulated ferric oxide. It's a phosphate remover, phosphate being one of the main contributing factors to algea outbreaks, along with nitrates. GFO won't help with the algea already present, but it will help retard any more growth. In a clean system, GFO will help keep outbreaks from occurring.
Nice!!

I wish i had room for that it sounds huge!

Heres my tank this am. That was the biggest water change i ever did!!



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1029144543.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	144.1 KB
ID:	97679



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1515224380.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	140.7 KB
ID:	97680



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2446038910.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	186.9 KB
ID:	97681



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1119279419.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	159.2 KB
ID:	97682



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-472790635.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	97683



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-472790635.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	109.2 KB
ID:	97683



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2634224864.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	97684

I am going to buy a fake plant to hide the canister. My husband bought the tank.....
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 12:19 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flreefer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,984
Love the tank! The reactor isn't really that big. Look on Bulk Reef Supply at them, smaller than a canister. This will be one of my next projects too.
Best of luck!
__________________
Flreefer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 01:16 PM   #18
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by Openbrain View Post
Then why do they sell this stuff??
They sell it for you to dose in a another tank to treat your livestock. You never treat your main tank with that. You really want to keep track of your tank now as you probably killed alot of your beneficial bacteria. You`ll probably see an ammonia spike soon. Be ready to do PWC`s if needed.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 03:17 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Openbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58

They sell it for you to dose in a another tank to treat your livestock. You never treat your main tank with that. You really want to keep track of your tank now as you probably killed alot of your beneficial bacteria. You`ll probably see an ammonia spike soon. Be ready to do PWC`s if needed.
Ok... I have the "live bacteria" in my refrigerator, should i put a dose in?
__________________
Openbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 07:21 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
I'm battling similar issues and am going to be running some GFO. FYI when doing your water change scrub the algae off with a toothbrush and hold the syphon hose close to suck it out as it comes off. Depending on your test kit you may be getting inaccurate results, it doesn't take much phosphates to grow algae.
__________________

__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, bacteria, cyano, cyanobacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.