Fallow Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

danj

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I had a problem with saltwater ick and had to remove all my critters from my main tank. 55g. I am presently treating it with rid ick+. There are no fish in the tank. How long should the tank remain fishless? I want to be positive that i dont put fish back in a bad tank.
I am also very new to saltwater. I have a 75g freshwater that is doing very well.
TIA Dan

6-8 weeks without a host will kill ich by itself. I would not have added the chemicals to my main.

I have stopped the chemicals and put my charcoal filters back in. This should help get rid of the meds. I have the powerheads heater and filters still running. Should i also restart my skimmer? Is there anything else i should be doing for the next 6 to 8 weeks?
I am also still doing partial water changes.

I would start the skimmer. I would remove the filters. After med is out I would put new filters in. I am guessing you have no corals since you medicated the tank. WC's are definitely not going to hurt your main but I would focus most of your WC's on the tank the fish are currently in.

All that is left is two yellow tail damsels and some live rock all in a QT tank right now. I will take out the filters as suggested and continue the WC's. On both tanks.

Thanks for the help Brenden.

I would do some water changes, run carbon and watch the skimmer if you've already turned it back on. Some meds make them go haywire. I would fallow the 75 for at least 8 weeks.

How are you treating the remaining fish?

Phyl
The remaining fish and live rock are all doing well in a QT right now. Just doing the normal maintainance on them. No meds etc. The 55g tank is the sick one. And there is nothing in it . And i am running carbon filters on it now.

Thanks