FWIW im done

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MollyDoll

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ok heres the deal, i just ended the 8 week quarantine tank period for ich with copper. I lost a few fish on the way but i made it. Ive been down the ich road many times but i thot this would end it. a couple days later i think i see my butterfly fish and tang with very small white dots. There extremely small but i think it may be ich, i could be overeacting. MY family and i already agreed we cannot do anything else, and i still havent told them yet since it would crush them and it may not be definite. If it is ich the fish will sadly have to either live or die since we cannot do another quarantine thing for a 4th time. IF it is ich is there any possible way to kill it off early. I know garlic helps the fish and i have been using it for almost 2 years and it seems to do nothing. Advice needed for an aquarist about to give up :( i also have cleaner shrimp but they havent had much of an effect.

I know quarantine would be better but I can't, sad but true, im just looking for options to give my fish a fighting chance incase im right.

Also thankyou for the garlic link. Advice still needed and wanted.

Well do like I said then about frequent PWC`s and pristine water conditions for them to have a chance.

If you are not going to qt again then all you can do is a fw dip, add them to the tank, and feed a varied nutritional diet. As melosu said, keeping your water quality from degrading is important whether there is disease or not. You can add garlic once weekly along with a Vit. supplement such as Selco. Some recommend Vit. C/B as well. If you do not want to go through another 4wk. qt period (hyposalinity > copper imo) and willing to pay (alot), nothing beats Chloroquine for Crypt (Ich), Amly (Velvet), and Turbellarian (worm) infestations.