Help rescue tang!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chevypride

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I went to go purchase 2 clown fish from an online ad. The tank was nasty, very undermaintained, and just bad looking. Anyways, there was a hippo tang that looked rough, I couldn't not get it! It's 6-7 inches, and has what I believe to be HLLE. I'm no expert so I need help! I want to save this fish! It was on a meat only diet (ouch) (mysis and brine shrimp). So my first thing is introduce him to some seaweed! I'm in need of ideas! I've been reading up but want all the information I can get!ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403753991.007361.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403754028.366957.jpg

40 gallon cichlid tank;
Pseudotropheus socolofi (albino) x 1
Labidochromis caeruleus
Metriaclima greshakei x 2
Amatitlania nigrofasciata x 20
Pseudotropheus crabro x 1
6" pleco x 1

Can't tell for sure with these pics but HLLE does not appear to be the problem. Best solution is a clean environment with a good nutritious balanced diet. Many Tangs are healed from most conditions with the addition of vitamins via food/algae or liquid additives. You will probably see a marked difference in the fish's coloration and physical appearance after a couple of months of good living and eating.

Hope this helps.

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403757540.466274.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403757567.656906.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403757594.760101.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1403757620.672359.jpg

Here's some more pictures. He's ALOT darker since being in my tank compared to there's. Hopefully he'll look a lot better soon. He's the ugliest fish I've ever seen! (I'll still love him if he stays ugly!)

40 gallon cichlid tank;
Labidochromis caeruleus
6" pleco x 1

I'm only a beginner but he's beautiful not ugly lol

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice