High Nitrates (Pink) help ! new to salt water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jaygza01

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
so I am new to this. I am using a 65 gallon tank with a Oceanic Sump protein skimmer system. Also have a couple flowheads in there as well. Probably have 60+ pounds of live rock in there.

As for fish I Have (1) Trigger (Niger) - (2) clownfish- (2) blue damsels or some small fish and (2) small tetras for some small black/white fish. (1) blue starfish , (1) chocolate chip starfish (3) snails

I had a Dog face puffer :( poor guy jumped out of tank overnight after I had put a tang in there ..man was i devestated..such an affecionate fish !

Well Tang was sick from beginning i think,,,had ich,,progressed fast...died today..a week after I got her...she was a powdernose tang..**** crappy fishstores

So I am not using RO water but using the Cholorine eliminator and nitrate eliminator yet when I test my tank its high in the "pink" . I do have some waste on bottom of tank, will be hard to vaccum with the live sand but ill give it a try. How much water should I change and how often?

Should I get a filter to put in top main tank that attaches to side of tank and filters it with a micron filter or whatever? any info will help..ph is stable and saliinity is stable at 1.025-6 ....planning on getting another dog face puffer but want to stablize tank first. Thanks :thanks: